Travel interruptus


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jen's plan: take a $12 shuttle at 7:15 to the Ferry terminal, get on the 8:25 ferry to Picton on the South Island, then take the TranzCoastal scenic train to Christchurch.

Not so much.

After waiting in the terminal for about 3 hours, they let us on the boat for free tea and coffee, while we waited for the okay to sail. I had a "Big Breakfast"minus the meat for $12, and then read in the food court until 12:30 when they decided to sail. I took some amazing pictures of the harbour as we left.

I met up with an ex-Brit named Andy and we chatted for most of the 4 hour ride. It was very rough, so while I didn't hurl I felt really heay and tired. It is a huge truck ferry and in the throughs waves were crashing over the sun deck! They let us back outside once we entered the Straits, and it was again amazingly beautiful. It's like NZ isn't even a real place! I saw my perfect home- perched on a cut into one of the barrier islands accessible only by boat. Hmmmm.

After waiting 45 minutes for the trucks to disembarque, I transferred to a bus provided by the train company to carry us to Christchurch or Kaikoura since the train left ages ago. Andy had offered me a ride in his rental, but after changing my train booking to the next day I decided just to hop the bus. The train company has blacklisted me for my indecision.

5 hours later I made it to the train station via bus, and joined two women traveling together to go to Base hostel for $5 on the shuttle. I am hoping to share their rental tomorrow once we get to Greymouth, they seem very normal- Kelly is visiting from Montreal, and Stacy is a high school teacher in Auckland with a baby. They met in Ireland and Stacy is showing Kelly around, who came down for her wedding last week.

Base Christchurch is not as nice as Auckland, and someone stole my duvet while I was doing laundry at midnight! Lame! $7 for a load of wash with soap, $28.50 for the night. I am knackered. I think I need a night off somewhere, just to sleep this day off! But the bus ride under the moon was beautiful. Their were red vineyards, snow covered mountains, and a seal crossing sign on the highway😊 I think I love the South Island already, even with the issues!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb