Exploring Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,
It's been a while since the last post...apologies. I haven't really been making any large trips since the spring break adventure, so there hasn't been any major events to write about, but the past three weeks have been full of little things here and there that have made them great.
The fall weather is starting to set in and most of the trees have lost their pretty foliage. Even though it's fall it has been beautiful out for the most part. Cool, but not cold. Blue skies and most importantly little to no rain! I haven't left the city since I got back from Kaikoura, which has been a lot more fun that I thought it would be! I've been to the Art Museum, Arts Center, ventured to many new bars and restaurants, even some interesting kiwi parties. I've also been volunteering at the aquarium at least once a week, which has been a great experience that I'm very glad I looked into. The kids are great, and I am continuously amused by their adorable little accents ("Aye waunnnt to leeern about the scoooorpean feeesh", etc.) My boss is great and I've learned a lot about
CampusCampusCampus

this is near the athletic center, at the track
the animals and the processes that they have to go through to design the programs that they have. But I can't say I like the fish more than the goats and wolves of Fort Rickey!
It's nice to see a little bit more of Christchurch, we've been on the run at least every other weekend since we got here, so spending a few weeks lying low in the city has been relaxing (not to mention money saving). But the travels start back up next weekend! We are having a girls weekend down in Dunedin, which is home to the Cadbury Chocolate Factory. We are going to take a tour...I cannot wait. It's crazy to start thinking about the weeks ahead because I have so little time left here! I cannot believe it is May already. I've booked my return tickets and I arrive in Syracuse on July 4th (how appropriate for my US return). Thinking about coming home is bittersweet. While I miss everyone, it's sad because I'll never have the same experience in New Zealand, even when I come back in the future. Living here, going to school, etc. I feel like I'm more than a tourist, but
CampusCampusCampus

The walk back from the gym by the river
not quite a resident. The good news is that the people all over, kiwis or tourists, are so friendly. Even if I returned as a tourist, I know that same feeling of hospitality will be there.
Other good news, I have a camera again! I'm very happy with it and it's already gotten quite a bit of use, especially this past weekend. I've thrown in random pics from here and there onto this entry. Well, I should stop procrastinating and get to my Spanish homework (oh right classes...they are going well too). Miss you guys...thanks for reading, Mel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The time I wore a trash bag as a dress...The time I wore a trash bag as a dress...
The time I wore a trash bag as a dress...

we went to an "anything but clothes" party (for those than don't know, you have to come dressed in random things that are not clothes, for example trash bags and red duct tape)
me and my flatmates :  )me and my flatmates :  )
me and my flatmates : )

Me, Christian, Dennis, Bjorn, and Leah


20th May 2007

yay july 4th! maybe we can make a little trip to camden to see you? love you, mel! talk to you soon :)
22nd May 2007

Party at Panther Lake
Maybe we could have a party at Panther lake for your arrrival if you can stay awake for it......
27th May 2007

your kewl
you rock!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb