Flying, Kiting, Beach & Fireworks


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
November 5th 2006
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Monday 30th October 2006 to Sunday 5th November 2006
Had pretty good week, fitting 25 hours of work around flying and playing at the beach. Also gave Lisa a 'driving lesson' at Taylor’s Mistake car park.

Didn't do too much flying as winds were picking up. I arrived at Taylor’s Mistake launch site to meet Dave and Alex. Alex was covered from head to toe in sheep shit - he had problems after top landing and had been dragged along through all the shit, poor bloke - but very funny! I did one flight and after having problems actually getting my feet on the ground we called it a day - time to go get a kite out! See the Chrsitchurch kite surfers here.

Lisa was due to fly onto Oz that week but she decided to stay and spend more time with me in New Zealand. So we celebrated and made plans to travel to Oz together in January.

Now that I was earning decent money I decided to take us out for dinner once a week, to try out the eateries of Christchurch - this week was the really nice “Two Fat Indians’. Really good food and service. I threatened to take Lisa to have a ‘proper’ Indian meal back in the UK, see how she sweats then!

We (Sultan, Tim, Lisa, Lian and Suzan) went to play on Sumner beach (see Lisa's talking chin video - made me laugh anyway). Another time me, Tim and Lisa went and played on the rocks at Sumner beach - see the video of me trying to convince Lisa she could jump the water. I also took my housemate Tim for another kiting lesson on New Brighton beach and got him boarding - he was a real natural!

Sunday we went up on to the Port Hills to watch the fireworks all over Christchurch. The most impressive being off New Brighton Pier.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Tim, Suzan and LianTim, Suzan and Lian
Tim, Suzan and Lian

at Sumner Beach
Christchurch Kite surfersChristchurch Kite surfers
Christchurch Kite surfers

right next to the road as you drive to Sumner Beach
House BBQHouse BBQ
House BBQ

Some of my house mates and their Dutch mates


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb