Goodbye Blenheim it's time to travel again


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
February 24th 2018
Published: February 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

So after I recovered I called the supervisor and asked if he would have a job for me. He was very kind and told me that actually he told other people that there would be no other jobs but as he knew that I was sick I was allowed to work for him. I was very happy about that and so I started the day after. It was nice to work for that company as we had to do a lot of different jobs among other wire litfing, leaf plucking, thining, singling, taping,... Furthermore it was the perfect job to make some money as I worked in average 10 hours + a day.
Meanwhile some new people arrived in the hostel and I got along very well with 2 german guys, whos names are Tilman and Jonathan.
While I was working I also got to know Jessy and Tobi from France. They always made fun of Luxembourg which was entertaining and made it more fun to go to work. After some time they got a nickname for me which is Lulu. I don't think that it's to annoying so I accepted the fact that they call me like that. Lol they would have called me like that even if I hadn't accepted it.
The job was quiet exhausting as I worked 7/7 and I had to get up at 5:30 a.m. every morning. We had one day off because it was a public holiday. I spontaneously called Logan and as luck would have it he had just arrived in Nelson that day. So we decided to meet up there and it was great. On an other rainy day Jonathan, Tilman and I went to the cinema to watch 'The Greatest Showman', which was a nice afternoon activity.
One evening I didn't have enough onions to cook so I asked my buddies if I could get one from them and then Tilman said: 'You're my roommate. My onion is your onion.' So yes that became our insider.
I actually wanted to work until Wednesday but as the Cyclone Gita was going to hit New Zealand work got cancelled for Tuesday and Wednesday. That's why I finished work on Monday and after that day I was happy that it was over as we seriously had to work 13h30 which was ridiculous.
However the fact that I was earning money, that I spent time with people that I liked working with and last but not least that there were people in the hostel that felt like family made these 5 weeks in Blenheim more than tolerable.
On Thursday I actually wanted to drive to Kaikoura and then to Ashburton, where I first did woofing, but the highway was closed because of the Cyclone. So I had to drive a detour and unfortunately I missed Kaikoura...
I stayed with them for 2 days before I drove to Christchurch to see Theresa, Jana, Christian and Aonghus, who are all there now.
Yesterday night I watched my first rugby game between the Chiefs and the Crusaders and I enjoyed it. The atmosphere was brilliant. Looking forward to watch another game here in Aotearoa.
Right now I'm in Christchurch waiting to pick up my boyfriend Pierre. It's going to be amazing as I really can't wait to see him again after 5 months!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement





Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb