Merry Christmas!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Blenheim
December 27th 2007
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

When Duncan told me we'd get our Christmas tree from the side of the road, I thought he was joking ... but no, we cruised along the road by the farm looking for "the one" and then I kept the motor running as he jumped out with his crocodile dundee knife and hacked it down.

Once the tree was up and decorated, I felt much more in the Christmas mood. I had a trip to Dunedin to do some shopping and were saying about how busy everywhere was, but I thought it was lovely and quiet compared to Bath/Bristol even on a normal day. The people were all friendly and there weren't even enough cars to get any good road rage going, in the end, I had to resort to finding the busiest car park to try and find a space in so I could feel at home.

We travelled up to Blenheim for Christmas, stopping at Duncan's brother's farm near Christchurch on the way. Before we left, I started getting excited about seeing their rotary cow shed, and realised I was "on the turn" ... !

Our Christmas day was pretty much over before yours started in the UK, it wasn't a really sunny day, but it was nice and warm, and it was different eating cold meat, salads and pasta rather than a roast dinner, but there was easily the same amount of booze and fun as there would have been in the UK :-)

It was great being able to Skype my family back at home, and it was great seeing my nephews chatting away with Duncan's niece and nephew, even if they were exchanging bad cracker jokes!!

I hope you had a great Christmas too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb