Akaroa


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
December 11th 2005
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Left Christchurch sunday morning to check out the coastal region of Akaroa. Beautiful scenery, so stunning it was unspoilt by the arrival of my 1987 Nissan Bluebird Station Wagon. The pictures speak for themselves.

Slept in car on way south, then checked out the ancient Moeraki boulders just south of Oamaru. Quite unbelievable. If only I had more time to really investigate these ancient phenomena. But life must go on, no point in dwelling on the past eh.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Moreaki BouldersMoreaki Boulders
Moreaki Boulders

They're very very round - which one's the boulder....


19th December 2005

Spelling?
You playing with the letters again...I think I'll look these up and research for you. They hold my interest. Yes, yopu know you said you'd bring me a stone from every place you visit, I'll have one of those please. (NB Ross'd do it for me)
19th December 2005

Geography/history lesson
The Moeraki boulders, according to Maori legend, are gourds washed from the great Araiteuru canoe when it was wrecked in a landfall 1000 years ago. Scientists say that they are erosion-resistant (obviously) septarian concretions (not so obviously?) formed 65 million years ago. Guess they don't trust Maori legends then. Did you go onto the viewing platform and see Hector's Dolphins? They play in the waves round there you know. You can also go gliding round there, and visit the Marine Research Station in Dunedin. They do tours and you can see sea-horses and sea cucumbers and small sharks. And you can visit All Day Bay and see the Cly Cliff, they look good. You have a lot to do Musky. Get underwater camera (I saw one in Boots over here, a special hi-tech Nemo one, only 6 quid) and send me photos of seahorses cos I love them a lot.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb