Leaving New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
March 15th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Before leaving New Zealand, I drove around with Evan to the Milford Sound, Dunedin, and then up the east coast to Christchurch, where we went our separate ways. I was able to sell my car for only $100 less than what I bought it for, despite it stalling for this first time on the day I sold it. I then spent a week working for accommodation for a family just south of Christchurch. I then hitched out to Akaroa, where I immediately wished I had more time to spend, due to its' small town feel and the beautiful coastal scenery. The owners of the hostel which I was staying at were from North Salem in Westchester and moved out to New Zealand seven years ago. They also owned a sail boat that took out guests of their hostel at a good price. Coincidently, Evan who I had just split up with a week prior was working on this boat. We were able to see tons dolphins swimming along with boat which was incredible.


Leaving New Zealand has left me with some sentimental feelings and a better understanding of traveling. Before I left home I felt that I had to come up with reasons to tell people why I wanted to travel. Probably due to the fact that I wasn't even sure why I wanted to leave, but after meeting so many people who are doing the same thing, it just became normal. There are no need for reasons except for the simple desire of wishing to see something outside of your normal surroundings. It is a lifestyle that is almost carefree and so far easygoing, which unfortunately, I know cannot last forever. I cannot say I learned a great deal about the people of New Zealand, but I think my time here has opened my eyes up to my own country. It has been interesting to hear how people from around the world view Americans, despite the fact that most of the time they aren't positive. Some see Americans as just wasteful consumers and ignorant to the world. I was constantly asked questions about the US and a lot of times I couldn't answer them because I have had almost no involvement or interest in the political world. I saw people from other nations who knew more about my country than I did and as a result it became easy to take much more of an interest in these matters. I think my time away from home has so far opened my mind a little more and enabled me to gain the confidence to travel on to South East Asia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



26th March 2008

I think it went through...
Ok finally I can write to you. I have tried to no avail...but just now..it took my little message to you. Maybe if I do not write too much...it will take it...so I will give this another shot Mr. Farrell. Ya know..you are doing something so amazing Brett...how cool is that?....Way cool I do think. I remember to this day never going into a restaurant alone...like ever...just did not sit well with me...SOLO....and now I am tempted to give it a try. Silly I know...but I will do this. When Mom finally got my email right and I got to see what you are doing..I thought to myself...what an amazing time you must be having...dolphins?......wow Brett...lucky you...I will try to send this one to see if you get it...Hope your safe...and doing well. Please do not tell John or Jenna about what you are doing...lol..only fooling..I just do not want them to go that far away...ya think? OK...here I go again...see if t his one takes...........Love...Mary Jo

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb