Abel Tasmin


Advertisement
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had to get up at 7am this morning to be ready for my 8am pick up. I was taken aback when I walked out the door as it was freezing, and wasn't really inspired at spending half the day on the water, but the sun was shining and the day had great potential. It took us about an hour and a half in the bus, through the most stunning scenery with snow topped mountians in the background.

We arrived at Marahau where we were getting on the boat and getting all our gear in preparation for our morning of Kayaking!! We then got onto a speed boat and were taken to the beach where out kayaks were ready and waiting. By the time we were togged up and had gone through our instructions the temperature had heated up (thankfully). We were paired up and put into 2 man kayaks that had little rudders and foot pedals inside to steer. I was teamed up with a short loud guy from Preston who smoked like a chimney. As I was taller I was put in the back to operate the rudder and then we set off. We headed straight out to an island seemingly not too far from the shore but paddling against the current it was a lot further, and I was doing most of the paddling!

When we got there we found a small colony of seals which was pretty cool, we got up really close, and at one point a seal swam right underneath of us!

We then paddled further down the coast, thankfully with the current and the wind behind us which made things alot easier. The scenery was stunning, and it was nice to be able to observe everything on the sea without an engine. The weather was beautiful as well which really helped! Before we knew it our 2 hours were up and we were paddling back into shore to meet up with another group for our lunch. Lunch was awesome, we had huge delicious rolls, great big muffins, fruit and tea and biscuits! Gradually the sun vanaished behind some building clouds and the wind started to get up. It's a good thing we'd done the kayaking in the morning. Once I'd had my fill I got changed into warmer walking clothes, and headed off down the coast to walk through the park. The walk took about an hour and a half and again was fab, I really enjoyed it. It finished on a really pretty beach where we all sat and waited for our water taxi back. As the tide was right out the boat was met by a tractor and we were pulled in on a trailer all still sat in the back of the boat! By the time I got back onto the bus I was pooped and I think well deservedly had an early night after a bit of nosh!!

All in all I think today was up there on my list of highlights for this trip. I had such a good day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb