New Zealand; Auckland - Paihia - Raglan - Waitomo - Rotorua - Taupo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
November 18th 2015
Published: November 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick update: I've trekked to waterfalls, hiked through farmland and forest, visited a Maouri Marae, danced a traditional Maori Poi dance, hand-fed deer, goats and an ostrich, eaten hangi (the traditional NZ dinner prepared of meat and veg cooked on hot rocks in the ground), and kayaked on huge lakes... All in less than two weeks of being here.
I did some caving in Waitomo (Haggas Honking Hole) which entailed abseiling down underground waterfalls (which I can simply describe as feeling like you're being flushed down a toilet), squeezing through tiny gaps trying to avoid the thousands-of-years old stalactites above you, then rock climbing past glowworms. It was one of the most amazing things I've done! If in Waitomo I highly recommend you stay at Juno Hall Backpackers - it was a truly excellent hostel. Probably the best I've been in.

Mount Karioi - some great walks and awesome surf at the local beaches. The people who run the lodge are incredibly friendly and gladly take you the one minute walk to the glowworms which was really cool.

Rotorua definitely smelt with its geothermal activity and therefore lots of sulphur being released into the air. I ate a big dinner, too big, and felt sick and then kept getting wafts of sulphur and wanted to throw up.

Lake Aniwhenua - the people who run this lodge are unbelievable. They were so kind and friendly (a theme in NZ) but beyond what you could ever imagine. They are helping the local village - which has declined since local forestry jobs were taken over by machines - through tourism, so by staying here you are doing the same.

A trip to Hobbiton (where Lord of the Rings was filmed) made me feel at home because apparently Hobbits aren't that much smaller than me. I'd happily live in one of their little houses in the hillside! New Zealand is the twenty-something country I've been to and is without doubt the most incredible. There's parts that remind me of England's South Downs/Peak District but on a bigger scale. My next few days are being spent relaxing before I attempt the Tongariro Alpine Crossing - a 20km walk along volcanic terrain, lakes and craters and past the active volcano Mount Tongariro. The weather has been -10 in places so it's not been doable yet. It's an 8 hour trip so I'm gleefully stocking up on biscuits, sweets and all the delightful high energy foods I tell my clients not to eat 😊

Stray Bus

A note on the Stray bus; it's great, really great. We have been to some amazing places (some of which are places that are unique to Stray) however there is some sort of glitch in their booking system as it has deleted a few of people's journeys off of their itinerary. It deleted two buses which I was confirmed for and then they waitlisted me when I called to inquire about the problem. Thankfully I had screenshot my itinerary proving I was confirmed and they were able to ensure I was confirmed again for the buses. A glitch, yes, but it shouldn't put you off booking with them. The drivers have been very friendly, knowledgeable and friendly, and the people very kind. If you want cultural outings and fun evenings, use Stray, if you want a constant party, use Kiwi Experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement




Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb