Rafting in River Valley


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 12th 2006
Published: March 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Loving that lookLoving that lookLoving that look

I am not even going to ask if my bum does look big in this, as I have already been told it does, thanks Liz!
I just cant get enough of the neoprene wetsuit look and upon arrival in gorgeous River Valley I promptly donned yet more bum-hugging kit and prepared myself for being thrown out of a boat down some Grade V rapids (the most scary kind). Actually I managed to stay in and hold onto my paddle for the two Grade Vs that we successfully managed to navigate (with fully trained raft guide, obviously) but two of my crewmates threw themselves out on a Grade II and almost managed to take me with them. I did lose my paddle but that was a necessity as I was hanging on for dear life with my feet somehow in the boat but my bum and me in the rather cold water. No harm done and I finished my white water rafting experience totally exhilarated.
The river was spectacular with steep rising cliffs of gorge in certain parts and rolling green hills in others. The water was totally clear and unpolluted and indeed was very cool and refreshing to drink. It felt funny drinking out of a river but then I have been used to the Isis and I would definitely not recommend filling up a water
River Valley LodgeRiver Valley LodgeRiver Valley Lodge

Absolutely beautiful
bottle there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb