The Top of New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
February 25th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At the Sign of HobbitonAt the Sign of HobbitonAt the Sign of Hobbiton

Welcome to Hobbiton, indeed!
I got a bit fed up with a humid and hot Sydney, so I went east to find myself in one of the most beautiful countries in the world - New Zealand. For three weeks I was to spend time here, not enough if you ask me (or anyone else). The first week was spent on New Zealands north island.
I started with a visit to the Shire. Hobbiton, to be more precise. A lovely place with green, rolling hills and ... sheep, lots of them. This film set is the only one standing after New Zealand got brought back to its natural state after the filming of Lord of the Rings. It was such a peaceful and lovely place that even people who don't really care about LOTR can enjoy it. After my brief, but wonderful visit to the Shire I left Matamata for Taupo.
Taupo is an amazing wee town, on the banks of a huge crater lake called - you guessed it - Lake Taupo. On the day I arrived, I rented a mountainbike and set off to Huka Falls, along narrow paths in the blistering heat. But it was worth it! I was exhausted but happy when
The Party TreeThe Party TreeThe Party Tree

In the centre of Hobbiton was the Party Tree.
I came back to the hostel, but got disappointed quite quickly since my planned trip to Tongariro National Park was called off. The next day was not going to be a good day for tramping active volcanoes. So I had to wait around a whole day in Taupo, while the wind calmed down. It was settled, the next day was going to be Tongariro.
Tongariro Crossing! Amazing! You walk for a little over 17km over a barren, sulphur-smelling landscape, with stunning vistas and lakes. The Devil's Staircase nearly killed me, so I chose not to climb Mt Ngauruhoe (Mt Doom for LOTR-fans). I continued up the edge of the Red Crater and down towards Emerald Lakes and the Central Crater. This walk is just absolutely unreal! I could have stayed there longer.
After Tongariro I moved on to Wellington, New Zealands capital. Quite a small town, but a great nightlife! I went up to the Observatory with some of the girls I had met in Taupo. There we saw Saturn through their telescope. After seeing a distant world, we went to a more familiar one - the pub.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

HobbitonHobbiton
Hobbiton

What's left of it ...
Bag EndBag End
Bag End

From Sam's and Rosie's cottage.
Huka FallsHuka Falls
Huka Falls

My final destination at the mountainbike track in Taupo.
Lake TaupoLake Taupo
Lake Taupo

A ginormous crater lake that is ...
Mt DoomMt Doom
Mt Doom

Here I am, in front of Mt Ngauruhoe, aka Mt Doom.
On topOn top
On top

The view from the top of Devil's Staircase.
South CraterSouth Crater
South Crater

The barren landscape of a volcano.
ViewsViews
Views

Just one of many wonderful views.
Emerald LakesEmerald Lakes
Emerald Lakes

Don't swim in them - they're full of arsenic.
Three VolcanoesThree Volcanoes
Three Volcanoes

Mt Ruapehu, Mt Ngauruhoe and Mt Tongariro.
WellingtonWellington
Wellington

The capital of New Zealand.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb