Eggs


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
February 22nd 2005
Published: February 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, since I last wrote I have gone to the Glowworm caves (yes, I could feel all that UK concern about would the rain stop me again...it didn't). Then on an 11 hour bum-buster trip through Dunedin (briefly - very briefly), up bits of the East Coast and to Christchurch for brief recovery. At this point, let me applaud the host-age (as in ability to host, not ability to cower in fear at my demands for $$$) skills of the hosts. They are indeed wonderful and lovely people, and even live in a nice house to boot (I think, doesn't leak, good graveyard views). Nothing appears to be too much trouble and no demand/abuse is too much. It is as heavenly as the Rough Guide suggests your typical NZler is x power of 100. Just the odd bit of sarcastic wit and basic taunts to put up with and it's just like...heaven? No accolade can do the hosting justice, it's just too good. You even get nice long nightly photo-viewing sessions and audiovisual delights of "godrock" upon request. And all the travelling knowledge you want. admiration admiration admiration etc.

(Have I earnt my next night's stay do we think?)

I'm now in Rotorua, sans carers. This is North Island, so time being short (or so *you* think) I had to fly at great expense. I was a touch disappointed at first upon landing, just looked like some town (my current distaste of towns doesn't quite fit with living in Sheffield I know), and yes, it even had the Golden Arches. HOWEVER, post-flight grumpiness over, I wandered round the lake front for a few hours and it was pretty magical indeed, so I am no longer disappointed (what a relief, no?). Here, the hot innards of the planet seem to be leaking out, causing boiling hot water and plenty of sulphurous gas to blast out now and then on the beaches. It is so strange to see. Plenty of warnings about danger, all ignored of course.

The chemists amongst you will relise sulpher gas smells a bit like...rotten eggs, ands o does much of here.

It doesn't put the birds (feathered) off though, I saw some 100% genuine 'twitchers' would you believe. There are masses of birds on tiny islands that used to be big islands down near smelly, green, boiling exciting "sulphur bay" (how did they come up with that name??) so it's an easy catch. Plenty of imported black swans too - very exciting, but dangerous to children apparently. Make more of them I say.


Tommorow? More Rotorua, Maori cultural experiences, feasting, red hot mudpools and the like is the plan.

Laters......


Advertisement



23rd February 2005

Doubtful?
Glad about the gloworms - why do they glow? Did you make it to Milford / Doubtful Sound as well? It's cold and snowy here...hot mudpools sound inviting even if they do smell! - Mum
23rd February 2005

Told you so!
Hi , you are doing more in a day than Jack Bauer! Told you nothing is a problem to them they are very accomodating. Not sure if you meant make more Black Swans or children! Looking forward to the mudbath pictures and I'm still not bitter. - EVE

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb