A quick hello....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
April 18th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tarawera fallsTarawera fallsTarawera falls

Tarawera Falls issuing from the cliffside.
Hey all,

Just a quick one. All is well here, hope it is where you are.
We have now picked up the campervan, it's really easy to drive as it's an automatic and has power-steering (a luxury for me!), my left foot doesn't know what to do with itself in the absence of a clutch.

Our first stop was the geo-thermally active area of Rotorua, the geothermal activity means a good deal of sulphur is deposited in the air which results in a unfortunate odour of eggs around the place.
We went mountain biking on our first day there which was awesome. In a national park right next door they have miles of specially constructed mountain biking trails. Good fun indeed!
A rather lengthier (and bumpier) trip to Tarawera falls was in order the next day. The journey there involved a half-hour drive along a very bumpy gravel track, not particularly fun. Still the falls were worth it.
(See photo, I have some better ones but they are on my other memory card which I don't have with me)
Some of the scenery we have come across is amazing.

We are now in Taupo now where hopefully I shall be throwing myself from an aeroplane at a great height. I'll keep you posted on that.

Anyways, I'll keep it brief.
Oh, I've added some photos from the South American leg.

Take care all,
Mike






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Bariloche, ArgentinaBariloche, Argentina
Bariloche, Argentina

A lake whose name escapes me, very nice though.
Smoggy Santiago, ChileSmoggy Santiago, Chile
Smoggy Santiago, Chile

Yes, those are the Andes you can barely see......
The GAP groupThe GAP group
The GAP group

Our fellow travellers and tour leader. A good bunch.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb