Endless Summer:Sand Boarding and Surfs Up in Ahipara


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
November 12th 2005
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Climbing up the Sand DuneClimbing up the Sand DuneClimbing up the Sand Dune

That sand was SO hot!
HHi Everyone!

I'm at Endless Summer Lodge in Ahipara on ninety mile beach. The hostel is straight out of a surfer flick. Right on the beach, hammocks out front, boards in the back, smells like sun tan lotion and sand. We went sand boarding on the huge sand dunes nearby, which was quite hot and sandy....and not as exhilarating as I imagined. We walked about 45 minutes in low tide to get to the sand dunes. Rachel was the first up, and after 20 minutes of walking to the top of the sand dune I couldn't see her anymore. I began to get worried, and then I finally saw her gliding down the sand. I tried it out, but the hot sand prevented me from hiking too far up the dune. I rode down, but after a while, the board sinks into the sand, and the ride becomes really slow. SO, we gave up sand boarding and headed back to the lodge for some lunch.

After lunch Rachel took a surf lesson, and I was the photographer. She even stood up; I was like a proud mom!

We spent the rest of the day lounging around the hammocks and walking around the beach. What a relaxing trip!

Until next time! Shelly


















Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Endless Summer LodgeEndless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge

This is the front of the hostel, its a building built around 1880 and it is made entirely from wood of a Kauri tree.
The sign on the Front doorThe sign on the Front door
The sign on the Front door

I thought this was so cool!


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb