Northern delights!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 25th 2008
Published: March 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am not sure I have ever visited a country which differs so greatly. When we arrived in Auckland, it was almost like I had entered a completely new country. Firstly there were people....more than just tourists in campervans and secondly the mountains I became used to in the south had disappeared to be replaced by small rolling hills! Our first little journey of the North, took us out onto the Northern shores, to a place called Owera. Just a little beach town, with the most amazingly active beach I have ever seen. That is one thing, I think the rest of the world must hold their hand up to, New Zealand wins hands down at sport at all levels. Having been inspired by our campervan of the south, our bargain 4x4 became our little home for a couple of weeks. Its amazing how comfy you can make a car to sleep in! Before heading out to explore the North, we had to experience a new type of foreign medical facility, emergency dental surgery. Though please note, this time it was NOT for me! After which we headed for a couple of days in the Coramandel Peninsula. Most people take 3-4 days, though beliee me it can be done in a day! The highlight of the peninsula for me was the walk out to Cathedral Cove. It has the main limestone arch that you probably saw pictures of whne you were in your school Geography classes! This walk was made even better by the fact that part of it was on the North island snorkel trail. So all geared up, I braced the weather and took myself out exploring the coves and bays. I had to admit to not staying out too long, as the waves crashed over my snorkel but the marine life rivalled that of the Barrier Reef. I saw the most amazing fish, with huge goggling eyes, probably about the smae size as a wok! Although he looked friendly enough, the spikes coming out from his back was enough to send me shore bound! Close to Cathedral Cove, is also a well known tourist spot called Hot Water Beach. The concept being that you can dig yourself a little hole in the sand to sit in and wallow in the hot water. So there I am digging a hole, deep enough to get me back to England with my flip flop, but still I am having no hot water luck. Moodily I head back to the car park, disappointed from the lack of hot water fun, to read a big sign saying that you will only get hot water at low tide! Oops! The rest of the peninsula consists of surf beaches and quite a few pretty towns to rest up for the night.
Our journey then took us across to Tauranga, where we stumbled across the Rip Curl Surf Championships. I tried to convince them of my new found surf status, but I am not sure I was that convincing. Then when I saw girl as young as 9 take the biggest waves, I even began to doubt my own ability! Heading south through the growers county we came to Rotarua. You can smell the town way before you see it. A mixture of sulphur and eggs springs (no pun intended) to mind! Within Rotarua there are a number of thermal villages and hot springs you can visit for a mere $30, however we decided to do it the poor persons way, which I reckon was just as good! The main park within Rotarua has a number of hot mud pools and thermal springs to keep you amused and your hair smelling of egg for a good few days after! This was very impressive, but what surprised me the most was that you can walk down normal shopping streets and residential areas in the town and still see geysers and steaming water rising from the drains! The highlight of my North island experience was however discovering secret and FREE hot pools. we had been told about a certain forest track which leads you into a river stream with a couple of waterfalls. The bonus being this water is hotter than the baths I have at home and just deep enough to sit and relax for a good hour or two!
From Rotarua we drove across the mountain range of Lake Taupo and went to visit some friends we made in Africa. Napier and Hastings are two cities demolished by an earthquake in 1931 and as a result were re built completely in Art Deco. The buildings, whilst not ompletely to my taste were well worth a look. There is also the Hawke´s Bay wineries in around the two towns. Whilst we only visited two. the oldest winery Mission Bay is well worth the visit. The wine isnt too bad either. Our final stop before heading back to Auckland was Taupo itself. It was I think the fact that we had seen equally magnificent lakes in the south that made Taupo just ok for me. Its saving grace was the Huka falls which act as a huge water chute travelling through the town.
Lastly we spent 4 days in Auckland, a lovely place to relax and kick back for the Easter weekend. Places such as Mission bay, Devenport and the Viaduct are full of the types of cafes and restaurants other parts f New Zealand severely lacks. WE also managed to spend a day out on Rangatoto island, made solely from Volcanic rock. Simply stunning.
New Zealand was simply a stunning, scenic country, with hidden gems amongst many tourist traps. Could I see myself living there? Maybe.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb