Frustration...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so Ive spent the past 2 and a half hours in the internet room here at the hostel Im staying at in Auckland tonight- uploading pictures, transferring videos, sorting all of my North Island pictures out, working on updating the blog, trying to back everything up- and it turns out it has been all been an exercise in futility. The computers have crashed on me- not once, but twice- effectively erasing everything Ive uploaded, edited, written, and transferred. The computers here are set so that they dont recognize outside disk drives, which has made backing anything up impossible, even if they werent shutting down every five minutes. Unbelievable. 2 and a half hours of slugging through it, and Im literally right where I started. Now I only have 34 minutes of internet time left (Its all pre-paid, and the reception desk where you purchase the access codes is closed), and am struggling to keep my composure. The first time the computer crashed, I wanted to throw it through the wall, but contained myself. Now, after the second time, all I can do is take a deep breath and try to keep it together. At least I can laugh about it- well, maybe not laugh, but at least smile in the face of technology gone wrong. What else am I going to do? So frustrating... Maybe Im trying to do too much, with all of these photos, the video camera, backing it all up, while trying to keep up with the blog and everything else... I feel a bit overwhelmed right now, thats for sure... Hey, at least now I have significant practice in the process of trying to get everything sorted out. I just wanted to have all of my NZ stuff- photos, videos, blog, etc.- taken care of and out of my mind before heading to Asia tomorrow, but it doesnt look like that is going to happen. I do have a few hours in the airport here in Auckland before flying to Bangkok, and then Fede and I will have from 10pm to 5am before boarding our flight to Hong Kong... Maybe there will be internet facilities in one of, if not both of the airports. Im not holding my breath...

Anyway, speaking of, tonight is my last night in NZ. It has been an amazing past couple of weeks of traveling through the North Island, seeing unbelievable things and going on ridiculous adventures, all while making new friends and capping off my 9-month stint here in Kiwi-land in style. Time/facilities/patience/perseverance permitting, you might eventually get to see/hear all about it. I hope that Im able to share at least a little bit of what Ive been up to. Problem is that once you start traveling, every day is a new adventure, a new story to tell, a new chapter in the continuing story. Thats why I wanted to be caught up before leaving NZ... Alas, it was not to be... It has been a whirlwind of sun and mountains, bus rides and hostel beds, caves and waterfalls, a few splashes of rain here and there, a trek to Mt. Doom across the barren plains of Mordor, various close encounters with the native Maori culture, a few lazy days on the beach, a foray into the art of surf fishing, an education in the art of bone carving, a night spent in the shadow of the Lord of the Forest, all wrapped up by an unexpected surprise and an extended stay in the North Cape. I have to say, the trip has been amazing, more than I thought it would be, and that I planned it out almost perfectly. I got to see and do almost everything I wanted to do, and had so many bonuses and surprises along the way that made the trip a memory in and of itself. Traveling is amazing- you never know what the day holds in store.

That being said, I am ready to move on to Phase II. New Zealand has been great- it is an incredible country, filled with even more incredible people and mind-blowing places- but it is time to move on. Its not an “Expedition” if one stays stationary, and therefore, it is time to turn the page and continue on the journey... Asia, here I come!

Next time you hear from me, Ill probably be in Hong Kong. How crazy is that?!?! Soooo excited!

Okay, 3 minutes to get this posted... Hope to be back soon! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb