Surfing in Raglan and the rest of the North Island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
December 23rd 2007
Published: December 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After splitting up with Marcos in Taupo I headed west to New Plymouth which was a nice city but there was nothing keeping me there. I had to chose whether I wanted to continue heading south in order to get to the south island or backtrack five hours north to go to Raglan. Raglan is famous for its surfing and I had been wanting to learn. Once I realized that heading five hours in the reverse direction when you have all the time in the world was not a big deal, I started driving.

It turned out to be a great choice. Raglan is a tiny town all about surfing. I stayed at a backpackers where everyone was a surfer or learning to surf. I took one lesson and then spent the remaining four days trying it out on my own. The only aspect of it I did not like was the frigid water. I wore a weatsuit but my toes were the problem. I even tried little booties but my toes were still losing circulation. Despite the problem I learned a fair amount about surfing. The backpackers was great as well. After coming back from surfing in the cold water there was always a nice fire to warm up next to. I also witnessed the most beatiful sunset I have ever seen in Raglan.

After I left Raglan I was content with what I had seen in the North Island and headed straight for Wellington.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Manu BayManu Bay
Manu Bay

where the good surfers go


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb