The Hawera Water Tower: the best $2.50 you will ever spend!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
May 30th 2021
Published: May 30th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Driving into Hawera, from any direction, you can't miss the Water Tower. This impressive structure towers (excuse the pun) over the town, as it has done since 1914.

The best part of the tower is that you can climb to the top of it. I had never attempted the climb but finally decided that, armed with an energy drink or two, it was time to give it my best shot. I went into the iSite where I met the wonderful Joanne. She has an amazing knowledge of Hawera and the surrounding area and if she can't answer your question off the top of her head, she will quickly access the information for you. Being a mother means she can empathise with parents and grandparents who need activities suitable for children.

Handing over my $2.50 (yes, it only costs $2.50 per person) I was given the key to the door of the tower and off I went with plenty of encouragement from Joanne.

Opening the door, I had absolutely no idea what to expect. My initial reaction was WOW, followed by WOW. I didn't know where to look first. It was so impressive. Closing the door I suddenly felt very alone. It was quite eerie and very quiet. Time to tackle the stairs.

The stairs naturally go round and round to the top. They are steep and narrow so I was grateful I didn't have my very active 6 year old grandson with me as I would have been constantly worried about him tripping or slipping or generally doing the silly things 6 year old boys do.

At every platform along the way there are information boards that provide a good reason to stop and take a breath. They also helped convince me to forget about having Lupus and to just keep on climbing. There were a couple of areas along the way which felt particularly eerie and I didn't stop there. Apparently others have felt like this too. It is hard to describe but there are cold spots and a feeling of not being alone. But there is a solution to counteract that feeling - sing. Yes, sing. The acoustics are amazing and will make anyone sound good, as well as chasing away any ghosts that may be lurking.

The last part of the climb involves a narrow stairway and there is a button that you need to push to turn the lights on. Do not make the mistake of ignoring the button because you will quickly learn you need the lights on! Turning round is almost impossible so you may find yourself climbing down backwards which will make you feel ridiculous. Not that I did that of course......

The moment you arrive at the top makes the climb worthwhile. The view of a fine day must be stunning. I had chosen a cold, windy and very grey day so even Mt Taranaki was unable to be seen. Typical! But there is such a feeling of achievement to be up there. If only there had been someone down below, looking up and thinking "Oh look at that person who was fit enough to climb all that way. I really admire her." But there was no-one in sight. Typical!

Oddly, climbing down was tougher than climbing up. You need to find the best way to get your feet to deal with the stairs, especially if they are as large as mine. I finally worked out that going down sideways was my best bet.

The real highlight is being presented with a certificate to show you have achieved the climb. This is given to you when you return the key. What a brilliant idea. Well done to whoever thought of it.

Who should take on the challenge of climbing the tower? Anyone who has a reasonable level of fitness and determination. It would be a great experience for children but be prepared for the moaning about how many stairs there are and be prepared to keep a close eye on any who may want to tear round in circles. At least you can take your time and rest on the way up if you are like me - older, unwell and definitely not fit.

Geocache: For premium members, there is a geocache on one of the levels.

https://teara.govt.nz/en/photograph/25910/hawera-water-tower


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb