lodgings


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Whangarei
October 22nd 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

our cottageour cottageour cottage

the decking faces east, so its lovely to sit out on the decking with your early morning tea.
Robyn and Leigh have gone off to work and Jen to school - she only has 3 more weeks, then exams, equivalent to A level. They do exams in summer too. So they left me the computer to myself, and I've got time to think. That Robyn keeps writing the blog for me, and is waiting for me to come over to download the camera so we can choose the pictures for the day! I thought I'd put on some photos of the cottage and garden. Its beautiful here, its a big garden, with a field and a couple of cows, just like home really. In fact the landscape is very similar to Montgomery, and the language mutates a bit like welsh. "wh" makes "f", thus all the places that I thought began with "w" don't!! Anyway, in the garden are oranges, lemons and grapefruit for the picking, and other most spectacular trees and plants, and lots of birds that wake up really early and sing loudly! The only possum I've seen was dead! Leigh has taken me for a couple of test drives in his rather special Honda (with leather seats) and now that we're left to our own devices,
the hondathe hondathe honda

that sits under the car port. You drive on the left, but there are a couple of odd rules you need to think about.
says I can drive it wherever. These relations are exceedingly generous. He also gave me a lesson on the ride on lawn mower - maybe I should have known a little more about that old one I had at home after all!!! At least I can cut the grass for them sometimes, the flat bits anyway.
George and Beb are coming soon to take us to their grandchildren's school for an hours entertainment, specially laid on for grandparents apparently. We met the kids yesterday, they were very jolly. now, lets see if I can get those pics on without help.

seems I did it! By the way, thanks for all the comments and messages received, its good!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

looking northlooking north
looking north

from the garden
the kitchenthe kitchen
the kitchen

and Alex looking busy
looking southlooking south
looking south

the garden goes back a long way, but this is from the cottage decking.


23rd October 2007

what a nice property
Is it for sale? it looks very nice on this blog entry. I like the photo of Alex - is he studying for exams or studying oranges? The car looks rather good too doesn't it! Hope you both enjoy your holiday and get up really early every morning!!
31st October 2007

Hi this is easier than texting and cheaper apparently I've now found this at work and been assured that it is ok to access the internet sso here goes. We all watched the high jump which was hilarious watch out everyone at the olympics ten out of ten for style. The cottage and garden look really gorgeous and the coast. I'm looking forward to March. Must go got a student to see to. Luv Lynda

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb