Images from the Whanganui River


Advertisement
Published: December 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Route from Raetahi, down the Whanganui River and eventually to Palmerston North


VITAL STATISTICS



Feral Mike's Current Location: Palmerston North
Distance Covered So Far: 2,268 Kilometres
Average Speed over Last 70 K: 22.4 kilometres per hour (getting faster!)
Next Destinations: Pahiatua, Pongaroa, Alfredton, Masterton

PREVIOUSLY ON FERAL MIKE'S TRAVELS


I spent two days travelling from Raetihi to Wanganui, via the Whanganui River. It's little more than 100 kilometres, but the condition of the road makes it slow going and there was lots to stop and look at.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

On the Road to PipirikiOn the Road to Pipiriki
On the Road to Pipiriki

My kind of road, mainly downhill and gravel. But I feared the bouncing around on THE BEAST OF BURDEN would wreck my new computer netbook, which I'm carrying in the handlebar bag.
Mandy at the Raetahi Holiday ParkMandy at the Raetahi Holiday Park
Mandy at the Raetahi Holiday Park

I holed up in a cabin at Raetahi for two nights while it rained. Mandy was one of those cheerful, helpful people that every motor camp needs.
River CampsiteRiver Campsite
River Campsite

I shared this campsite at Ranana (London) with two cyclists from Wellington.
AlistairAlistair
Alistair

One of those people you meet along the way. He pulled his van over to stop and chat about international events. He was remarkably well informed. Then he revealed he believed the Twin Towers were destroyed by explosives planted in them and the Pentagon was struck not by an aircraft, but by a missile.
Kawana Flour MillKawana Flour Mill
Kawana Flour Mill

The old water wheel at the Kawana Flour Mill. The stream which once drove the wheel has been diverted. The mill was built in 1854 and closed in 1912/13. Restored in 1978.
Kawana Flour MillKawana Flour Mill
Kawana Flour Mill

The wheat was fed in through a hopper and ground, and spat out as flour on the level below.
Oyster CliffsOyster Cliffs
Oyster Cliffs

Embedded in the cliff were oyster shells, evidence that at some time the area was under the ocean.


7th December 2009

WOW
Hey Mike, I just e-wrote a kinda big comment on your amazing journey, but somehow that just disappeared!! SO just to say I have just caught up with your blog (though I had a couple of quick looks earlier) and think what you are doing is an amazing thing... I will come back with further comments soon... I have been a bit overwhelmed with things...C has just finished round 4 and we are feeling very optimistic about the future...and thanks for your expressions of concern via Judy! Ward
17th December 2009

a grave consideration
Hullo my friend. Had a long confab with Sam H today.. and I think a chord was struck. He is going to get in touch with Johnny, Baxters' son - and thus the Baxter family... "to convey Mike's welcome initiative and thoughts." He said to me "Tell Mike this heads up is appreciated." Sam is concerned that something is done - but by 'the whanau' - he doesn't want to have any public profile himself. "Bax would not want a fuss -- I want to bring it to their (the family) attention ( the desolation) and leave any decisions to them.) But make sure you let Mike know that I am moving on this, and thank him too for his recognition at Jerusalem.\." I think I will have a wee cry - and a wine.....this weekend my old mate from London from 40 years ago arrives in a campervan with his missus... we are off on the Gravy Boat for the day. Xmas, Sam H and I are going to broach a bottle of $5 Spanish red he's 'discovered' - and bought 2 cases of from Wollworths. (sigh) travel safe -- hug for Jude... P
17th December 2009

Baxter - That's Good News
Hi Paul, the whanau idea seems like an entirely appropriate way of dealing with it. Let's hope something works out. Thanks for raising it with Sam. cheers Feral Mike

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb