Road trip to Wanganui and being thrown out of a hostel!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wanganui » Wanganui
August 18th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This is a relatively short blog however there were too many photos to justify attaching it to a different blog.

So Thursday morning we started our scenic drive to Wanganui going via Turangi and the Wanganui river road. The drive was amazing as the photos demonstrate. The driving over here is really easy and we rarely saw more than 2 cars an hour. Thursday evening we arrived in Wanganui and decided to stay the night at the hostel. When we checked in we found we were the only people there however we were soon joined by four “older” ladies who we had seen in our hostel in Rotorua. We soon nicknamed them the blue rinse brigade.

As Steve and I were on our way out to get our chippy dinner we got embroiled in a conversation with the blue rinse brigade and during the conversation I asked one of them where they were from. I got told that the lived in a small town just south of Adelaide the lady named the place and then reliably informed me that its nickname is Gods Waiting Room - how Steve and I kept our faces straight is a miracle needless to say however we soon made our excuses to escape.

Now is time for a confession.... In South America the hostels usually had a very relaxed attitude to checking out and I don't think Sharon and I ever got pushed out however over here they are a lot stricter. Anyway Friday morning Steve and I were on a bit of a go slow but weren't too much behind time. Check out was at 10am and at 9.40am I was packed so headed out in the Starlet to fill her up and buy some milk for breakfast on my return I was greeted by the hostel owner wanting to know if we were leaving. I said that we were nearly ready. Anyway for the next 5 minutes I pretty much had him following me around reminding me we had to leave to which I kept telling him we would be going. Having already stripped the beds he had already taken the bedding but it was apparent that we weren't going to be allowed the liberty of having breakfast as when I said we would empty the room first he said that he needed to start in the kitchen (that was already spotless!) as he had a group coming and they would go in there first. The guy was rude and ended up spoiling what I would have otherwise called a nice hostel.

I now need to confess that I “acquired” two bowls and spoons as I wasn't forgoing breakfast for the day. I eventually tracked Steve down (he seemed to miss out on the abuse) and we beat a retreat leaving the hostel at 10.05am! I have never been chased out of a hostel so hard before and will confess to not feeling too bad over my acquisitions and before anyone starts shouting at me the duly acquired bowls and spoons will in due course be left at another hostel for future use by others.

Breakfast was enjoyed on the Wanganui river side looking across at the hostel. The irony was not lost us! Breakfast enjoyed minus a brew we headed down to Wellington.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



27th August 2009

Ahhhhhhhh
Naughty naughty Andrea!!! It looks amazing - I'm dead jealous x

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb