A Breath of Fresh Air


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waitomo
January 8th 2004
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The first day in New Zealand, and by the end of it, I already feel like I belong here. Everyone in the group seems to mesh well, and this place is beautiful. The only sad moment was having to relinquish my Cirque juggling balls at customs because they may have had seeds in them, and the test for know for sure cost more than I paid for the balls themselves. Stepping out of the airport was like stepping into a dream. The air smelled sweet like Maine, only the temperature was perfect and the airport more remote. Our first trip took us to One Tree Hill, a monument where we spelled out “Pacific Challenge” in rocks, and I realized in climbing the hill, with some dread, just how out of shape I am. Then we went swimming in 65-degree water at a beach in Auckland. Lunch followed, along with a trip through Auckland to exchange our money for New Zealand currency. On the way to Waikato to see a slideshow of a Maori/ British battle in a tiny, privately-owned museum, we picked up Dan the hitchhiker from Canada on his way to Wellington. He reminded me of a buff, tanner Erik, and he desperately needed a shower. He stayed with us through Waikato, and we dropped him off just before we reached Waitomo, the village we’ll be staying in for the next few days. We’re sleeping in a Maori meetinghouse, and since the lights are going out, I’ll end this. I don’t think I’ll want to leave.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb