Raglan to Rotorua


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waitomo
March 1st 2006
Published: July 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After our extended stay in Raglan we set off for Rotorua via Waitomo Caves....
...now here's the thing... I decided it was time to face my fear and head deep under ground!

Kitted out in our rather attractive wetsuits and white gum boots (wellies to you and me) we treked across the fields a bit like the Thunderbirds towards the caves. All was going well...wading and crawling through water, a wee tea break to warm up and look at the glow worms, fondly known as "cannabilistic maggots with shiny shit" and then floating along on rubber rings enjoying a rendition of "Yellow Submarine", a wee bit of Opera and by far the best an in tune version of "Stand By Me" (beautifully sang Boys!). Lying back we were looking up at the glowing ceiling ...and that's when the fun ended! Oh yes, they decided to get us to crawl through a couple of narrow gaps...saying it would be fun. Well I've got to disagree. I faced my fear and nearly got stuck in the goddam hole! It was pitch black and all I could hear was Luke behind in a panicked voice saying "shit I'm stuck". Well as I clambered out emotions ran high and yes...I cried. Only a few tears but luckily I was in good company and a hug made it all better! To end the adventure as we crawled out into the wonderful outdoors we had to pass under these giant mouse-sized insects (Wetas- native NZ insects) that hung onto the cave walls....nice!

So, that was Tumu Tumu Tubing at Waitomo Caves. Glad I saw those little critters and faced my fear...although I won't be planning any more underground adventures in the near furture!

So, onto Rotorua where we were reconciled with our buddies Paul, Nat and Asha (yeh!!) and met our new buddy Matt. With only minutes to check in we were whisked off to Uncle Slim's Cultural Experience. It has to be done... for the tourists... but a good laugh and it was so nice to be made welcome. The lads learnt the Haka, the girls the Poi (balls on a string- a game for children to build up their upper arm strength for fighting), and then we all learnt a coordination game between two people and using sticks (can't remember the name!). Of course Amy and I were pros! To end the evening we sat through a play put on by the local drama group... an ancient maori tale. Not as good as those Mow-ean tales told by Nat and Paul!

The next day involved a wee bit of shopping with Ames and then I headed down to the Government Gardens and the Bath House....beautifully manicured gardens and the hot water spas....and I just had a wander around.

Rotorua is a crazy place...not the most attractive towns- has the usual local high street shops and the usual tourist shops following a grid-like layout. But the craziest thing is when you walk along the street and steam rises up out of the drains and you turn corner after corner and come across gurgling mud pools and steaming eggy-air vents! The tourists (well i do) look on in wonder at this volcanic delight while the locals walk on going about their daily business.

So, that was my second visit to Rotorua... my second stop at the mud pools... definately time to move on to Taupo.....





Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb