Oiy!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waitomo
January 19th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, wow. I have to say New Zealand is amazing, but damn does their internet suck. I can't get into anything here, so I'm sorry but until I get to a better computer, these are going to be super short entries and no pictures 😞 ... I really hope I can find something soon!

I left home on Monday and made it here on Wednesday (the 16th didn't really happen for me...). We flew on New Zealand Air, and wow, they have an amazing airline with the best in-flight entertainment. We flew into Aukland around 7 am Wednesday; I have never seen an aerial view more amazing than that! The coastline was mountainous and just inland was cloud cover. Gorgeous. Aukland is fantastic; we went up One Tree Hill which overlooks the entire city. The hill itself is all rolling, rocky hills with numerous trees and sheep. On the way up we met lots of New Zealanders and listened to little kids with cute accents play tag. Then I got to go to the beach and take a swim. After that we started the 3 hour drive towards Waitomo.

We stayed at a traditional Maori meeting place that is absolutely gorgeous and homey. I can't wait til you see pictures of it. The back yard is all bright green cliffy hillside. We stay in a A-frame room with cushy sleeping pads and best of all, hot running water.

On Thursday we had to opportunity to go black water rafting in caves that are deep underground and full of gloworms. It was amazing. Then later in the day I rappelled down a gorge to the mouth of a huge cave with rapids flowing through it. Very fun.

I take lots of walks out into the country because I can't believe how amazing the landscape is here. It is more than I could have ever imagined; literally right out of a movie. We took a night walk and saw the brightest comet that will be visible on Earth for the next few centuries; it was huge on the horizon! Then when it got darker, I looked up and have never seen so many stars in my life. The sky is full of the brightest stars imaginable. I could see the line of a galaxy across the sky and even some star clouds.

I have to say I love this place a lot. I wake up in the morning with all doors and windows open to hear tons of exotic birds singing, and then I get up and walk around the hills and look at the most colorful flowers I have ever seen. And not to make you jealous or anything, but yesterday it was about 85 degrees outside and fantastically sunny. And all of the natives are super nice and so polite. They treat you like one of them and will joke around with you constantly. I'm not going to lie, I might decide to move here... But that's it for now, I'll try to find something decent in the next town we go to, so good luck with your first day of class next week! I hope all goes well, and I miss you guys!

Advertisement



19th January 2007

luckeeeeeee
lucky ducky....sounds like you're having an awesome time! Are you making lots of friends too? I miss you!
19th January 2007

Sounds fun
Wow, that brings back so many amazing memories, trust me enjoy every moment of it, because may be a once in a lifetime trip! Glad to hear the trip is going well!
25th January 2007

you suck
just kidding.. this is so amazing Ali seriously. Glorious even. I can't believe how beautiful your facebook pic is. I am so jealous. I hope (and it sounds like you are) that you are having a great time. Don't miss us too much, we will be here when you get back. Just think about you and the amazing stories you are living and will live before you come back to tell me about. ;) have a scrumtrelescent time.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb