Ride 'em cowgirl!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waitomo
December 19th 2006
Published: December 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I got up far too early this morning and went for a walk where you could go through a few little natural caves, next to a gushing river. Just gorgeous and green and the grey around me slowly lifted to a more daylight overcast grey! I came back for some breakfast, then off to Waitomo Cave Horse Treks which is right up in the hills about 10-15 minutes up winding roads in beautiful countryside. I'd spoken to Rob, the owner, the night before. He's asked if I'd ridden before and I explained that I loved my one hour in Taupo, but wanted a bit more freedom. He said there were no treks booked tomorrow, but that I could go out with Kirstin anyway. So, 9.30am, there I was, with a lovely Canadian girl, being introduced to Major, a lovely caramel coloured horse. He had a lovely saddle on to, a proper western one, with a horn and lovely western detail on it too. I found out later that this was Rob's saddle and that Major was the horse he preferred to use when riding too. I felt a bit honoured as Kirstin said that Rob was really picky about his customers and would often tell them to just go down into the village. We set out and it was hard at first to get used to Major. He didn't really want to leave the comfy paddock at first, and, as I guess all newbies do, I was a bit hesitant at first. I soon realised, with Kirstin's expert advice, that I had to show Major I was in control, and I got there! we started out with a slow trot over the gorgeous countryside that I had driven through the day before. Lovely dark rocks jutting out, lots of dairy cows, Jersey's, an Aberdeen Angus and lots of sheep. Looked just like home! At first Major was a bit of a pain, he kept putting his head down to eat grass and I had to pull his head up and kick him onwards. I also found that the lack of power steering was a bit of an issue! He kept turning around or going the opposite way to what I wanted. I eventually got the hang of it though, pulling him enough to let him know which way I wanted to go, when to relax the bridle, when and how hard to kick him. Every now and then he would still stall though! Kirstin said my posture on the horse was great and gave me a bit more detail on how to sit going up and down hill. I think downhill is the scariest one. You have to push down on your heels in the stirrups, holding them a bit wider, lean back with your shoulders and relax your bum into the saddle. It's almost like you are trying to stand up and stay at the correct angle, whereas the horse is heading downwards. It's also scary when you are going along quite happily and then Major sees a nice clump of grass, stops dead and puts his head down to munch. I didn't quite go over the handle bars, but it feels like it! About a third of the way into the ride I was getting much more confident. I was sitting comfortably on Rob's lovely western saddle (and I mean western as in cowboy... so you can imagine how much I loved that!), I was relaxed and just enjoying myself. I felt like I was in a western movie or something, surveying my cattle on my Wyoming ranch.... Anyway, back to reality... A couple of times Major had got just a little bit excited and decided, without consulting myself and getting written authority, to just trott off in second gear. Thankfully Kirstin had told me how to ride - relax basically, and lean backwards - so I just let him. It was scary at first as it was unexpected, but once I got into the rhythm it was ok and I didn't fall off. I slowed him down, brought him round and pointed him back in the correct direction! What is also very scary on a horse, is going over rough ground, especially up or down hill. A couple of times we were on hill edges, where there were small, and no-so-small, drops down. I tried to steer Major to the right, who was having none of it. Kirstin told me that the horse would look where it's feet were going and I didn't have to, which is, I imagine, why the Taupo guide had told us to look into the distance of where we want go. At one point Major had decided to walk up this grassy hill with a nice three foot drop on one side and a fence on the other. It came to nothing and I certainly wasn't jumping down there, even if Major wanted to. Kirstin got me to turn him around. Impressive turning circle these horses have when they want to. However it was very close to the edge of the drop and I just closed my eyes as we turned around. I don't know why Kirstin thought I might be nervous...

Every now and then we got into a bit of a trot, mostly up hill where it's easier to balance and hold on. I was leaning down, holding on to Major's lovely light caramel coloured mane. I learnt how to slow him down when it got a bit much. Each time Kirstin praised my riding and gave me something to improve for the next time. She was a great teacher, fun, relaxed, down to earth with the right mix of praise and tuition (and took some lovely pics of me and Major - thanks!). I loved just slowly (and sometimes not so slowly) riding over the hill tops, round the perimter of this large piece of land for a couple of hours or so. Major was a fine horse if ever there were one and was excellent at doing what I asked him to once I'd shown him I was in charge. Aparently he's been in a few films, so I was with a celebrity for the morning! I also loved the western way of riding, which I was comfortable with by the end of the ride. This was where the reins are relaxed in one hand and you just pull across their neck to steer them. Major was responsive and Kirstin praised him and me (him with a carott). I can well understand people just disappearing for days on horse back, it's so relaxing. Good work for the thighs too. Kirstin said that as my bum wasn't aching then I was doing it right, and that she found it hard to beleive I hadn't ridden before. She encouraged me to ride more, which I would LOVE to do. L. O. V. E. In capitals. In pink. With glitter. So, yeah, maybe....

I was priveleged to have a one on one horse trek, went exactly at my pace and taught me what I wanted and what I needed. Even in a larger group this would have been a fantastic ride. Kirstin was great (good luck in vet school), as were the horses and the landscape. Whilst I didn't meet him, Kirstin told me a lot about Rob, the owner, and I asked her to pass on my absolutely thrilled thanks about letting me use "his" horse and especially his western saddle. Magical. Wonderful, I loved it. Definitely THE place to go for a serious fun horse ride.

And that was just the morning...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb