Hello, Hello!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
December 8th 2011
Published: December 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Liquifaction!Liquifaction!Liquifaction!

This is just one of the things that happens when you get an earthquake.
Wow, so much has happened since my last blog a month ago. I know I've been very lax but other people have been making demands on my internet time but here goes. I stayed a total of 10 days in Christchurch during which time I went to the most fab Fireworks display at the beach. The fireworks were all set up on the pier and it was just a like a festival - there were thousands of people there. Apparently it's the main one in Christchurch which is why it gets so busy. It's also free, which helps. I had some great weather in Christchurch and even got to do a bit of sunbathing. I left Christchurch and went on to Oamaru, still on the east coast where I got to see some adorable little blue penguins - the smallest in the world at about 30 cms tall. Unfortunately I couldn't take any photos as the light from the camera would disturb them and they were in the breeding season. Although when I left the Sanctuary there were a few outside on the harbourside and people were then taking photos with the flash no less - dumb or what - some
Party! Party!Party! Party!Party! Party!

A real festival atmosphere just before the fireworks display in New Brighton, Christchurch. The fireworks came off the pier.
people just have no idea when it comes to wildlife. Yes, it's nice to get a photo but not to the detriment of the animal. Anyway, also saw a possum on the harbourside no doubt waiting to see if he could get at the penguin's eggs. Unfortunately I didn't have a gun with me!! Think I'm joking, they are a pest here and as far as the Kiwi's are concerned it's open season on them. Anyway, I then moved on to Dunedin, a lovely city but where the rain finally had some say on my plans. I got to go to see the Royal Albatross and yellow-eyed penguins though beforehand. I only got to see the Albatross whilst they were flying though as again we couldn't approach them due to them nesting- and it's difficult trying to take a photo when something is flying overhead! Managed to get some of the yellow-eyed penguins though - which are the rarest in the world as they came back from the sea during daylight hours. Dunedin has some great architecture due to it's Scottish history but in the end it's just another city! I wanted to see some of the real New Zealand and I got chance at my next stop near Tuatapere, right down near the southern coast. More later. Having problems with the library computer and my photos again. Will try later!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Oamaru artOamaru art
Oamaru art

Part of a display of unusual artwork around the town.
Blue penguinsBlue penguins
Blue penguins

Best I could do without the flash.
Mr Possum!Mr Possum!
Mr Possum!

Well, the back end of him anyway!
Yellow-eyedYellow-eyed
Yellow-eyed

The rarest penguin in the world.
Yes, it's chocolate.Yes, it's chocolate.
Yes, it's chocolate.

Well, I had to do something whilst it was raining.


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb