Tongariro Alpine Crossing - ! did it!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
January 20th 2010
Published: January 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Tongariro Alpine Crossing successfully completed!!

After a false start on Monday morning having got up at 4.30 am (hold on this is like work!!) and travelled an hour and half the hike was cancelled due to 'adverse weather conditions'! All go again on Tuesday morning again a 4.30 am start. The starting point for the hike is at an altitude of approx 1000m going to 1886 at the summit. It is bloody cold in New Zealand at that time of the morning, there is still snow on some of the surrounding mountains. Right from the off we were either walking through or above the cloud base. It was tough going in places at times, especially for about 10 minutes when I really wished I could have had you guys from Snowdon telling where I should put my foot next on a narrow ledge that was quite slippy and a sheer drop down!! A wee bit scary!! The view on the way up and from the crater was absolutely unique and well worth the effort!! The red crater and the emerald lakes were amazing. Its really weird, there was freezing cold winds and the ground was warm to the touch. I did it in just under 6 hours and no blisters, I learnt from the master -Ram! plenty of blister plasters on before the hike!! I walked for the last part with two NZ police officers and by the end, they were trying to persuade me to apply to join them - a little too far from home, although, a secondment would be good!
On Wednesday I had a lie-in till 6am and back on the bus again to the Capital of NZ, Wellington. The population is under half million! From there got the ferry over to the south Island. I have booked a three day hike/kayak trip in the Abel Tasmin national park and staying of a barge/boat!

Take care and thanks for the comments and messages, they are good to get and keep me going!!
Love Suex


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



26th January 2010

I'm so jealous !
Hello there Sue, Your photographs are fantastic ! I'm in Manchester with wee Neil and Debbie doing week one of stage 2. So far so good but early days. My bhoys improving, better results so all those decades of the holy rosary starting to work ! That's some vacation you're on and just under two months to go. For me, I'm off to Aberdeen for a weekend in two weeks with the boys to see the bhoys, 4 days in Munich in March with the boys, week in Spain in May, week wherever with you guys in June (don't know where but not Benidorm), 2 weeks Spain in August. Like you Sue I've no time for work ! Oh, and Noreen coming over to Manchester this coming weekend. Till the next time my wee pal from Keady in the County of Armagh, the orchard of Ireland ! Hail hail Joe the Celtic man.
27th January 2010

Hey Sue Sounds like your having a fab time !! Your definitely making the most of it. WELL DONE !!! All is fine here. I cant text at the moment but will text again when my allowance back. Will let you know what Royal Mail say. Keep having the time of your life. lots of love xxxxxx
27th January 2010

Your Pics are fantastic
Hi Sue, you appear to be having a fantastic time, your photos are brilliant. Can't believe where the time has gone since you left. Look forward to your next instalment and to speaking with you soon. Everything is ticking along with me, still enjoying my new post in Gillingham... Pauline and co came down to visit last week, felt strange seeing her. Still seeing Daren, he's such a nice guy, a breath of fresh air in my life... just what I need after all I've been through. Any love and miss you loads. Take care, xxx
29th January 2010

Sue, you never cease to amaze. Makes life in West London appear v v tame - which it is i suppose. I'm not going anywhere exciting or doing much so keep the blogs coming as vicarious living is doing me good X
29th January 2010

hello
Hi Sue, looks like you're having a fantastic time, I'm not jealous, honest I'm not. Can't remember where you're off to next but I hope it's just as memorable. Look forward to your next blog. Take it easy, Jox

Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb