3rd Time Lucky


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
March 25th 2009
Published: March 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So after 3 attempts we actually got to do our Skydiving. It was amazing and where better to do it than Lake Taupo and on yet another sunny day. We decided to do the 12,000ft dive, you freefall 7,000 feet in 30 seconds and the 5,000 feet in 5 minutes with the parachute. Beforehand Maeve was quite nervous and was thinking of all kinds of ways of getting out of it.

When we got to the airport we were busy signing our lives away, getting kitted out and such. I had expected that we'd have to sit through a long boring safety lecture and do all kinds of drills and practices before going up. I was standing there watching a safety video while the rest were getting kitted out. Then I got a tug --- 'come on', I looked up to see the rest heading out to the plane and that was it, we were off. It was good in away I didn't have too much time to consider mortality or the lack of it. We were in the air in no time. A few silly messages to the camera, a few words with the instructor and then out you go.

This is how it goes -- you shuffle up the plane and sit on the door step with your legs dangling out, you feel the air rushing past and you look down and think 'Shit' - whoosh - out you go -- jam your eyes shut for 2 seconds then open them and you think 'Wow this is the greatest feeling in the world'

Beforehand I was thinking I won't enjoy this at all until the parachute opens and I know I'm not going to be a big splodge on/under the runway. What actually happens is that you jump out and it's just amazing, your hurtling towards certain death at 200kmph and its really enjoyable. You can see the curvature of the earth, the great scenery including the 3 volcanoes and Lake Taupo (biggest lake in the Southern Hemisphere, big enough for Singapore to fit into) You have to play up to the Camera as your diving and then all of a sudden it's over, you get jolted upwards as the canopy opens and the rushing air slows down so much that it's actually really quiet. You end up thinking ' ooh yea I forgot to get worried about the parachute not opening'. Then and you just float dowwn to earth. I did the perfect landing you'll see it on the video although the celebrations are a bit cringe-worthy. It's like they tell you to really celebrate and everybody agree but when the camera is actually rolling your the only one who does ot properly and you just look stupid. oh well.
When I got over to Maeve she was mad to go back up and jump again, so I assumed she enjoyed it as much as I did.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb