Taupo and Tongariro Crossing


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I hiked one of the (reputedly) world's top ten one day walks - the Tongariro crossing. It was fantastic.

Up at 5am, on bus 5.40am to start the 18.5km gruelling walk at 7am across mountainous volcanic terrain for 3.30pm pick up.

This was definitely one of my best days so far. The walk covers four 'terrains' - first general mountainous region including the high and long climb up the devils staircase

(This hurt a lot, especially since I strained my muscles dancing and limboing during my last night in Wellington, and then even more last night when I was trying to loosen them up! Pain!)

Then you pass Mount Ngauruhoe, used as Mount Doom in the LOTR films. Climbing this is optional, but personally the 45 degree scree slope had little appeal to me! I have been told its one step down for every step up, then just sliding down hoping not to hurt yourself! My muscles would never have made it!

The volcanic section has awesome views, a great red crater, emerald green sulpher lakes, a sparking blue lake and rising steam.

Next is a long downward walk though landscape than reminded me of Exmoor / Coastal Southwest.

Finally you walk downward through woods until you (happily) reach the end.

We weather was utterly gorgeous; calm sunshine (whereas the last two days were cancelled due to bad weather).

Hard work, challenging, utterly fantastic.

Oh yeah - met guy called David at hostel last night who is travelling at same pace as me through North Island. We spent all day together and get one really well, which is cool since I expected to be group hopping the rest of my time here.
Less good were some others in the dorm including one pair who insisted on having sex last night despite everyone elses protests and disgust...blooming inconsiderate!) Travelling is quite an experience!

Love and best wishes to all xx

P.s. The photos aren't my best - I couldn't see them on thumbnail so had to randomly select.

P.p.s Will be skydiving tomorrow at 11am, weather permitting! Yey!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



19th May 2007

Couples in dorms
I know what you mean! Very distracting if you are trying to sleep, I find giving performance reviews helps them stop!

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb