My Skydive


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
December 16th 2006
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi People: here is my sky-dive story:

I was in a good mood today, after 4 days in New Zealand, I had been re-united with my luggage! : I was going to Taupo to-do a sky-dive.

As I settle into my seat on the coach to take me to Taupo and said sky-dive, I glance at a paper laying there on the seat next too me and especially the headlines of that morning's paper, .

I grab the paper, but the bus driver fills' me in on the details!: it turns' out that the sky-diver/cameraman's 1st and 2nd chute's didn't open fully, other sky-divers could see he was in trouble and frantically went to aid him, but they couldn't! The now sticken sky-diver is knowing that his life is going to end starts to record his last thought's onto his VCR, like, "why me!" and goes on to say his goodbyes to his parents and girlfriend.

When I reach Taupo Bus depot ,I meet two girls who had been stopping at the same hostel as the sky-divers, they watched the said recording, at the hostel on the previous night!

Luckily enough air got into the chutes to slow him down and the sky-diver survived, his only injuries were a broken ankle and a bust rib!

Knowing what I knew, I decided to do my sky-dive from the highest possible height 15'000 ft, THE ULTIMATE PACKAGE"!

I figured that they would make doubly sure they had packed the chutes correctly.
I went to get weighed and to put on my assigned jumpsuit: It wasn't until after we had done the safety briefing and signed the forms to say who they should post the body too, just in-case anything went wrong! That I noticed on my sleeve the number 33, Liz believes that something significant is going to happen to her involving the number 33, they organisers wouldn't let me change my suit as it corresponded to my weight( I was getting lighter by the second, I was shitting myself! ) I went to meet my tandem sky-diver, Skoty, he checked over the safety harness and went through the exit procedure and asked if I had any questions? I asked " who scored for england in the 1966 world cup final?" He said " I don't fucking know, i'm from the czech republic!" .
I told him about my issues with the number 33 on my jumpsuit , and he just said "it's a good day to die!"

The plane ascended to 15'000 ft ,and we shuffled to the exit door, Skoty asks' "if i'm ok?", to be honest i'm shitting myself, i'm dangling outside of a plane at 15'000 ft ,thinking what am I doing, there is nothing wrong with this plane, why jump!
Next thing we are tumbling out of the plane and plummeting to the earth, my heart was in my mouth all the way down: After 1 minute and 8 seconds of freefall the chute opened and we started to float down to earth.

It has to be one of the biggest highlights of my life.

Ollie


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb