South Taranaki Historic Sites


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taranaki
September 27th 2017
Published: September 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

If you have an interest in NZ history, particularly the Maori wars, South Taranaki is the place to visit. Do some research online first, visit the iSite in Hawera (at the base of the Water Tower) and ask them for a photocopy of the old Historic Manaia/Historic Opunake etc brochures and then head off with an open mind and a fully charged camera.

Here are a few suggestions:

Turuturumokai: https://nzhistory.govt.nz/media/photo/turuturu-mokai-memorial I remember coming here as a child and teenager when the stream was full of eels just waiting to be caught and when there a film made there with people such as my classmates as the actors/extras. I feel very strongly about this place so I was shocked to see how it had deteriorated since my last visit. But then I met the amazing volunteer caretaker. His passion, vision, determination and hard work is clear and if I was living in Taranaki, he would find himself with a constant companion in his endeavours to restore Turuturumokai to its former self. In its current state, I can understand why it isn't top of the list on apps such as Trip Advisor but I wish people, especially local people, would go and explore and think about what they could do to help with its restoration. The ring pa, the monument, the views, the horses to chat to.......... oh, and the dump next door which I cannot believe was allowed to be placed next to this historical site. Sorry - the dump makes me angry but don't let it stop you visiting the site, soaking up the atmosphere and learning about its history. There is now a geocache up behind the memorial.



Te Ngutu o te Manu: https://nzhistory.govt.nz/von-tempsky-killed-at-te-ngutu-o-te-manu As a child, I visited Te Ngutu and my main memory is of the swing boat that is there. If you search FB: Sandra Robinson Photography, you will find information about this site from someone who lived next door and who has strong memories of what it used to be like. It is now a campground - one with a large padlock on the gate, preventing you from entering. The STDC stated it is there to stop people driving in and getting stuck in the mud as the farmer next door is tired of having to haul vehicles out. I just wish they had a sign at the gate that could inform the public of this and letting us know when it may be open again. As I was using my Geocaching app (think like a troll, there is a geocache there) I found that round the corner are the old tennis courts which provide an easy way to gain entry to the site.



Manaia Redoubt and Blockhouses: https://www.southtaranaki.com/Visit/Things-to-see-and-do/Historical-Sites/ Manaia is just a few minutes drive from Hawera and is worth a visit. I suggest you take your life in your hands, park at the golf course next to the sign that suggests you take care as you cross the course and head for the Redoubt and Blockhouses. I grew up half an hour away from Manaia and had no idea these existed. They are definitely worth a quick dash as you avoid golf balls. The current Redoubt was built in 1912, while the blockhouses are the original 1880-1881 buildings, although they have been reroofed at some point. They are just down the road from other sites worth visiting such as the band rotunda. A short drive will take you to Kaponga which has an easy park and grab geocache. If you choose a fine day, you will get some fantastic photos of Mt Egmont/Mt Taranaki. On a winter's day you may be forgiven for not believing she actually exists!



There are many other historic sites worth visiting but these will get you off to a good start and most of them provide great photo opportunities.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



14th December 2022
Turuturu Mokai, Hawera

Photo 9599207
Hi there, do you have any idea as to the origins of this European entranceway and the concrete blocks in the nearby stream, was this the accessway when the kiosk and pool were used?? Are the blocks an old bridge or dam structure?? Any help appreciated, apart from your photo I can't find any reference to these structures anywhere. Cheers.
30th December 2022
Turuturu Mokai, Hawera

Hi, I am guessing you have already contacted Tawhiti Museum and the Aotea Utanganui Museum or even Puke Ariki for information? I will see what I can find out for you.
30th December 2022
Turuturu Mokai, Hawera

Hi, I am guessing you have already contacted Tawhiti Museum and the Aotea Utanganui Museum or even Puke Ariki for information? I will see what I can find out for you.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb