My new favourite thing...White water rafting!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
February 20th 2012
Published: March 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Who'd have thought it - something that can beat cheese? Something that can beat freshly baked bread? That thing is out there - and it's white water rafting! OK, I know that they're all not in direct competition with each other but hey, I never thought I'd find something I liked just that little bit more...

The day didn't start so well - the tourist office told me to be ready for 9am to be picked up, but it turns out I was due in reception at 8.30am. Not the best start, especially when it's the rafting company owner that has come to pick you up. Feel I'm going to be thrown into the waterfall later...but turns out Steve is lovely. I know - a Steve who is a nice bloke. Never thought I'd find one (alright there may be the odd one out there but in my recent experience, most could be used as the personification of my made up word 'uber-prick'😉.

We chatted all the way to the raft centre before I quickly had to don my outfit (fortunately no wetsuit - shorts and top, lifejacket and crash helmet all that were required) and apologising to fellow rafters, who were waiting for the slow coach to be picked up from reception...

Once out at the river, I was given the dubious honour of being at the front of the raft. Probably my punishment for being late however I was chuffed to bits - the best view ever. Everyone has to follow my lead, so if I paddle wrong, so does the boat. The crushing responsibility of the situation - probably the first time I've had to be responsible in months - could have been overwhelming, especially when I'm the one in the knowledge that I have the coordination of a drunk. Still, I kept that one to myself and took charge...forward paddle, back paddle, get down, you name it, I followed the instructions down to a tee and set about leading my paddlers (alright, Dave was the raft guide really doing that at the back of the boat but I kind of felt a little bit of responsibility all the same!).

We headed off down the river, through rapids, paddling, getting soaked, and laughing. And then we came to the big one - the 7 metre drop that Kaituna is famous for. What a rush. Straight over the top of a waterfall. Loved it! We did some photo poses - including the two classic shots of me, being dunked in the waterfall, which have now become the stuff of legend on Facebook. Never knew I could pull such faces. I expect you lot all know differently!

Anyway, back on dry land, and I'm hooked. I'll be rafting again for sure. Andy, the kayak safety guy, said I could learn in Cardiff. No sooner had I got back to the hostel than I was looking it up, and booking myself in. That feeling can't be beaten on the river - was just an awesome day.

The 6 hour drive onwards to Coromandel was not so awesome - tiring but the beauty of the drive made it bearable. How I ever thought I might be able to cram a skydive in too before doing that drive looked ridiculous after the event.

The hostel is nice, and the people mainly fabulous (Duncan and Sarah in particular). Dorm mate not so nice - lights out and I'm told off for breathing. 'Could you please breathe a little quieter?'. Apparently she'd annoyed the owner and half the guests before I turned up - dorms are beneath her and she could only tolerate one night at the place, despite booking 3. The hostel was fantastic with amazing views over the coast, and just on the outskirts of the quirky town. Must have just been my breathing that drove her out.

But what a day - and armed with my new found love of rafting, in a way I can't wait to get home so that I can learn more in Cardiff. Who'd have thought... A shout out to Raftabout and River Rats, the company I used - anyone going to Rotorua should look them up and have the day of their lives. I did and one day, I'll be back again without a shadow of a doubt.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb