White Water Rafting in NZ


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
February 13th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kaituna RiverKaituna RiverKaituna River

Or, crazy river as I like to call it.
13/02/09 = White Water Rafting?...who?...me?...

Woke up early today because other people in room getting up. Do hate that about dorms...you can't really tell strangers to shut up like a normal person you would share a room with. Tried to snooze for another 10mins, but then admitted defeat and went for breakfast. Had the usual museli and then just when finished eating, hostel owner told me about free breakfast...gutted! Couldn't see that opportunity pass, so squashed in some toast. V.nice. Was make your mind up time then (to quote Cilla) and decided to book rafting, despite dream of death last night, where my little body was thrown against some rocks and broken in 2. Tried not to think about that. Booked it for the bargain of only $70 each and was just starting to feel good about it until hostel owner added on this line: "Well, good luck, it is Friday 13th you know". Well thanks alot mister...as if I needed to hear that! Now had the death dream and the death day to contend with. Did I mention how superstitious I am?! Seriously did make me feel worse; now really dreading it. Dragged self upstairs to get showered and
2m waterfall2m waterfall2m waterfall

Suprisingly cool...not scary.
ready and to try and forget all bad omens. Went into town to use bank and went on internet for while, but was all just killing time until rafting at 12:15 (am aware of the word 'killing'in that sentence).

Came off internet early to wait for raft man and he was late, which meant I spent a whole 30mins with nothing to do but sit and worry and worry and worry. Had already mentally decided by this stage that if man was late because of any problem, or trip had been cancelled/delayed, would definitely not do it, because that would be 3 bad omens...and would be stupid to ignore that many! But, he did come and he did usher us onto bus and trip was not cancelled/delayed. Was a painful 15min drive to Kaituna river (painful mentally I mean) and rafting man told us a bit about what was coming. This is what my brain allowed me to hear:
1) Kaituna = grade 5 river = highest possible grade in the world = most dangerous. Why am I here?
2) There are 3 waterfalls on river and 14 rapids, all of which have to go down/through
3) 1 of
Down we go...Down we go...Down we go...

So glad we didn't fall out.
the waterfalls = 7ms high = the highest rafted waterfall in the world. Ohhh Myyyy Goooddd (quoting Janis there).
4) There is no no.4...that was just me panicing!

Sat, half listening, half in a blur whilst he spoke, and then clambered off bus when we got there. Followed like a sheep into office and signed my life away on form without even reading it...couldn't face anymore info. Was time to get all gear on then. As if things couldn't get any worse, he showed what we would be wearing, and it didn't include a wetsuit. He said river was so warm at 23degrees celcius that we didn't need one. That would have been fine on a normal day, in fact it would have been good news to hear at least I was going to be warm when I was sent to my death, but not today, not when we had been specifically told that we would be wearing a wetsuit, so I didn't bring any shorts. So now, not only did I need to worry about the likelihood of being killed, I also had to worry about if (well, actually when) I got thrown out of the boat, everyone going to see the whole of my bum! And not only that, they would get a slow and prolonged viewing when I tried to scrape back into the boat. What did I do to deserve this!?! Grabbed all the clothes available, but life jacket only made it worse. It skimmed top of bum and completely covered bikini top. Felt totally naked and probably the most uncomfortable I've felt in a long time. Pulled at bikini bottoms frantically like somehow they would magically enlarge and turn into shorts; it didn't happen. The look was only polished off with the ankle length, skin tight rubber boots we had to stretch on. Can't take anymore...now more than ever, wanted to get in that boat! Get me in that boat and let me sit down, and please, please, please...don't let me fall out!

Got in van to make trip to river and instructor started to give safety talk. In usual stlye, talk only served to scare me more, especially when he started talking about what to do if got stuck under boat! That = worst fear. Reminds me of when got stuck in a capsized kayak when little and nearly had a heart
Clinging on in the back there...Clinging on in the back there...Clinging on in the back there...

You can never be too careful!
attack trying to rip myself out...please don't let me get stuck under boat! Van stopped at base of river, we got out and carried boats down, then got split into groups. Me and Deb got grouped with 2 older ladies who were really nice: Liz and Sandra. They were really...up for it! Instructor said a quick Maori prayer (I said his and then my own...just to be on safe side), then threw boats in and we had to jump in after them. So, that was it, bum showing no.1. Current was pretty strong and was quite a job to get to boat; then Sandra had to haul me in and bikini pants did exactly what I thought they would = bum out. V.v.v.v displeased! Sailed along river quite happily for a couple of minutes, then stopped and went through all manouvres. Practised how to sit, where to hold on and what each of captains instructions meant. Had 2 instructors on our boat: 1 at front leading (Cory) and one at back steering and shouting commands (Sam). Both were nice...not exactly the calming type...but nice.

Went down a few rapids and even went down 2m waterfall easily enough. Thought it
Still clingin on, head down!Still clingin on, head down!Still clingin on, head down!

I will not fall out of this boat!
was really cool and not at all worth how scared I was when first saw it. Enjoyed it, especially because we didn't fall out of boat and boat didn't capsize...maybe would be alright afterall? Got back out of down position (liked that one because it involved alot of holding on) and then had bit of calm water. Watched all other boats come down and had fun splashing each other. Was enjoying it until instructor from another boat came along and dragged me out of my boat into water = bum showing no.2. Not happy! Had to scrabble over back to boat and get massively hauled in by Sam, who pulled me up so hard that he nearly threw me out of other side of boat. Really wish had my shorts right now. Have never wanted my shorts more in my life! Had some more rapids, more splashing, then next waterfall = 1 1/2ms. Not as nervous for this one because first one was fun, so got into down position and enjoyed it as boat got thrown off over side. Still gripped for dear life though...can't risk bum showing no.3! Was some nice calm water at end of this one and
Down another waterfallDown another waterfallDown another waterfall

Me fully sunk down into back of boat. I MUST NOT fall out of this boat!
all got to jump in. Didn't feel too bad because everyone was doing it, so just started to get ready (i.e. get pants in position), when Cory grabbed me and dragged me in! Didn't stand a chance against his weight and went straight over edge. At least everyone was in; except Deb...she never jumped...got her foot caught.

Scrambled/got pulled back into boat (yes, was bum showing no.3), then got ready for next waterfall = big 7m one. Had been really fun up to this point (apart from all bum showing), but dreading going down big waterfall because petrified boat would turn over. Good job didn't have long to think about it. Had to follow same procedure: row to waterfall, get down on boat just before hitting it, then hold on for dear life...and I was holding on. Felt us slide over the edge, then plumeted to ground with speed and force that never felt before. Felt water grab hold of us and suck us completely under...the whole boat....just swallowed under like a pebble. Didn't think we were going to make it...were surrounded by water and pressure, but still didn't let go. After what felt like an eternity, water spat
Here comes the big one...Here comes the big one...Here comes the big one...

Please don't let me fall out god, please don't let me fall out x
us back out again and we re-surfaced....right side up. Yeh! No bum on show, no injuries, just wet 😊 Paddled over to edge then feeling v.pleased and watched other boats come down from there. Everybody managed to not flip over, but was amazing how much water dragged boats down. Was a point where you couldn't even see boat. Freaky.

Could finally relax again then and enjoy rest of rafting. Went through a few more rapids, which felt like nothing after waterfall, then came to some nice, calm water we could jump into. All got ready to go when just heard Sam say to me and Deb... "No girls, don't go that way...that's where the rocks are". Too late, we were already half way over and had landed in water before had chance to do anything. Were right next to rocks, but thankfully managed to not land on them. Not so lucky with current though. Was really strong and pulling us closer to rocks that were less than a metre away. Paniced a little. Don't know how managed to pull away from current, but we did and headed back for boat a bit calmer again. Just about to climb back
Half way downHalf way downHalf way down

...we still have a chance...please keep bum in boat!
in when Sam suggested staying in water and doing a train down next rapid. Everyone seemed up for it (although I didn't know what it was), so got ready to form a queue. Not happy at all when he said I had to go at front because I was smallest. Front...surely that's the most dangerous place when going down a rapid? Shouldn't littlies be in the middle? Got reluctantly pushed to front, all fromed a chain with legs round each other and off we went down rapid. Scared at this point...think I actually closed my eyes. Took one last gulp of breath (actually might be my last), then felt force of river drag us down rapid and totally submerge us under water. Felt water surge down my ears, nose and throat. Felt water totally around me. Then felt water shoot us back up to surface, spluttering and with Deb still holding on to me.

Still on such a high from coming down rapid, that didn't notice how quickly we were rushing towards rocks. Kicked and paddled like mad and managed to avoid them, but didn't have enough eyes to spot the boat coming straight towards me from behind. Heard
Not looking so good nowNot looking so good nowNot looking so good now

...where is the boat?
Sam shout, turned round to see it coming at speed straight for me, but didn't see Cory come from out of nowhere and pluck me out of water like a speck of dust. He plonked us both onto rocks and watched as boat pummeled over the place I had just been paddling aimlessly. Couldn't believe it. He asked me if I was o.k. and to stay calm, which actually made me feel worse...why shouldn't I be calm? Had to manouvre onto another big rock and stand on that until all other boats had passed. Was too hard to stand on though because current was so strong, it just kept pulling me over. Cory had to end up holding my hand (bless him). Waited there, on that slippy rock, until everyone had passed, then had to try and slide off it and swim back to boat. Area full of rocks, so had to lay down carefully and try not to scrape body as pushed off back into water. Managed it and Cory wasn't far behind. Got heaved into boat by Sam (bum showing no.4, but wasn't even bothered at this point) and he was laughing and calling me crazy. I didn't
Oh my gosh...Oh my gosh...Oh my gosh...

We are under all of that somewhere.
exactly plan to be crushed by a boat!!! Were ready to go again then and end of river was near...probably a good thing...my nine lives were running dangerously low!

Had some cool rapids to go down, then had the last, big rapid, which was really cool. Flew down it. Brilliant. Then had to paddle back towards it. We paddled towards it as another group came down it and SMASH...we collided. Both boats looked/felt like they were going to tip, but somehow we ended up flying over the top of them and they got squashed. We moved at speed towards rocks, were really shakey like we were going to come out and Deb actually did start to come out. Liz saw what was happening and hauled her back in before she even had chance to think about hitting water...v.funny. So, we all stayed in and other boat tipped over. V.happy with no bum showing no.5. Repeated it all again then, but this time without the collision. Paddled back to bottom of rapid and sat there while water from it threw itself all over us...so much water that couldn't open mouth or eyes because was lashing against face. V.funny, although it
Totally goneTotally goneTotally gone

Sucked under by force of water, boat and all.
did nearly take boat down. Poor Deb felt worst of it because she was sitting on that side of boat. All funny though. Stayed there, getting coated for a few minutes, then came away to breathe again...only so long you can go without breathing! And that was it, white water rafting done 😊. Paddled to side of river and got out of boat. Was in paddled over that Deb showed me her hand. Paddle had hit against it on last rapid and left her with a huge, freaky looking lump. Had swollen straight up. Ouch! Just a haemotama though, as Sandra pointed out, so didn't worry too much.

Had to carry boat back to bus then, which was probably worst part of whole day. Carrying boat with just bikini pants on, followed by guys = never a good thing, ESPECIALLY when they are singing "Ï see you baby, shaking that a*se". Really not happy. Walked as quick as boat would move back to van. Then had really quick group shot and jumped into van to sit down. Never wanted to sit down more in life. Short journey to office again. Jumped off of bus, v.quickly removed wet gear and
Here we come...Here we come...Here we come...

Coming back up again. Right side up?
scuttled off to find clothes. Clothes wonderful clothes! Got changed (wonderful experience) and chatted to Liz and Sandra for a while. Both were really nice ladies that had emigrrated from England to Australia and New Zealand. Quick chat, nosied at our photos, then got on bus back to hostel. Quite tired and drained from experience (more from adrenaline rush than physicality I suppose), but really enjoyed it and glad I did it. Was nowhere near as scary as had imagined night before.

Was 4pm when got back, so had few hours to chill before free BBQ at 6:30. Spent this time laying in a hammock, in the sun, reading a really good/trashy magazine. Then read a bit of my book. Then decided to go all out and get in hot tub; v.nice. Chatted to Swedish people in there, then got out and had shower ready for BBQ. Really nice to relax, seem to have been rushing from one thing to another lately. Had a lovely beer before BBQ (went down v.nicely = first one in NZ) and heaped plate up with tasty food. Had lovely sausage sandwich and beauty bacon butties. Bacon on a bbq?...never seen it before, but
Yeh...we made it!!!Yeh...we made it!!!Yeh...we made it!!!

Bum in boat...bum in boat! RESULT!
it was great! So much food left that I ended up squashing another sausage sandwich in too...you know me! Did have my salad aswell though, so was allowed. Really full bellied after that and fancied a good film. Went to lounge to find 2 guys chilling out and putting film on = End Game. Turned out they were from Hull and nice guys to chat to, so watched film and had chat in between. Not impressed with film...was rubbish. Although, it wasn't a good start when Bert Reynolds popped up as one of main characters! What has happened to his face? Watched rubbish film, then sat through a much better film = Scream. Love that film. Watched it and laughed through it happily, then headed off to bed tired. Good day overall and v.happy that survived another Friday 13th! 😊











Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 33


Advertisement

He's got me alright...He's got me alright...
He's got me alright...

...Can feel bum viewing no.3 coming on! Not happy Cory!


Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 32; qc: 168; dbt: 0.1967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb