Big Update!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
August 10th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

90 Mile Beach90 Mile Beach90 Mile Beach

Here I am on the 90 mile beach the other day (post to come). As you can see, quite windy!!
Okay, here we go, grab a coffee!! This won't be as long as I was hoping, cause I have to catch a bus to the Lord of the Rings site soon!

Friday August 3rd - We went up the Skytower which is the largest tower in the Southern Hemisphere which looks out over the city of Auckland. We took the train back into Henderson and had fish and chips for dinner. Mmmmmm 😊 This was the evening that Uncle Stephen came back from his work trip, so we had another re-uniting moment within the family. My dad hasn't seen his brother for 21 years since I was born, so it was great.

Saturday August 4th - Today was kind of a relaxing day, writing most of the postcards that have now been sent. Still a few more to do, so if you don't have yours coming, it will be very soon! I also took off to the local Internet Cafe so I could have some time going through emails, chatting on MSN, and hopefully updating the journal... but of course the site was down! In the afternoon, the whole family went 10-pin bowling. Of course, being foreigners, they had
ExcitorExcitorExcitor

We took a trip to the Hole in the Rock (post also still to come) and these were the sweet jackets and pants we got to wear!
no idea what 5 pin bowling was, and expected me to be this shining star at bowling because I do it all the time. Well, I proved them right! haha. I had a combined score of 270 through 2 games, WAY more than the rest of the family. We then got changed and went to a nice Chinese restaurant in town where it cost $35 for each of us. Food was pretty decent, but I don't think it was worth that much!!!

Sunday August 5th - I walked into Henderson this morning to have a bit of alone time since its hard to get any with so many people around. I ate an Egg McMuffin at McDonalds to feel at home a bit 😊 I mailed the postcards which were written up the previous day and looked around some of the shops. When I walked in the morning, it was beautiful blue sky, not a cloud in sight. When I left the mall 2 hours later, it was super dark and PISSING rain. Not having a jacket or umbrella, I wasn't too pleased since I was going to be walking for 20 minutes and going to be soaked. Well,
Hole in the RockHole in the RockHole in the Rock

And here we are on the boat at the Hole in the Rock!
by the time I reached the strip of the shops and wasn't going to have cover anymore for the last 15 minutes, it was sunny again. Very few clouds in the sky, and a MASSIVE rainbow, the biggest I have ever seen. That afternoon we went to a Rugby game, which was really neat cause I wanted to do this last time but never had the chance, and then ate lamb at our aunt and uncles. All in all, a good day!

I'm going to have to stop here, my bus will be here in about 10 minutes to take me to one of the Lord of the Rings site. If I have time tonight, I will update on the rest of the days, otherwise I will do it the next time I have a chance - probably 2 days from now.

Miss you all so much, hope all is going well, thank you for the comments and messages!!! They are greatly appreciated.

Love and hugs from Rotorua, New Zealand!

Kyle 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ferry from RussellFerry from Russell
Ferry from Russell

Here's the family on the passenger ferry coming back from Russell to Piahia.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb