I Skydived!!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
June 10th 2007
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Scared!Scared!Scared!

Feeling a tad nervous in the plane on the way up!
Hello again, time for another update. The main news is that I DID A SKYDIVE YESTERDAY! It was quite possibly the scariest thing I have ever done, I jumped from 15,000 feet, the highest height you can legally do a tandem jump from. I had 1 minute freefall, then it took another few minutes to parachute the rest of the way down. It was the last dive of the day, we went up at around 5pm I think, and the temperature as we jumped was around -20 degrees, FREEZING!!!! All I can say is that it was crazy. I've got a DVD and photos to show you all when I get home - wohoo!

Other than that haven't done that much, seem to spend all my time on very crowded coaches which is not great for the travel sickness! Went on a day trip to Milford Sounds, which is in NZ's biggest National park...took a boat trip on the fijord but it was so rainy and misty that I couldn't see much of the mountains etc which was disappointing. Saw a few good waterfalls though, and I got drenched as I decided to stand out on the front of
Waaahhhh!Waaahhhh!Waaahhhh!

Just jumped out of the plane!!
the boat as it took us under one of the falls! The power of the water, let alone the wind it creates is amazing!

Went to another seal colony in Kaikoura the other day and discovered seals stink! Recently discovered that Julie has lost all her photos from her camera somehow, which isn't good, as we sometimes only take 1 camera on activities so we have lost some valuable memories 😞

I leave for Auckland tomorrow, which is our penultimate destination before visiting the Bay of Islands for a night and returning to Auckland to fly out to Cairns, Australia at stupid oçlock in the morning.

ANyway enough of my waffle, will upload some pics for you now! xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Freefall #1Freefall #1
Freefall #1

The beginning of my freefall
Superman!Superman!
Superman!

Posing for the cameraman!
hehehehe
hehe

I can still just about manage a smile!
Phew!Phew!
Phew!

Thank God the parachute opened!


11th June 2007

Amazingggggggg!!!!!!!
Fantastic Gem, we are really proud of you. I definitely wouldn't do it. Keep having fun. Lots of love, hugs and kisses xxxxxxxxx
11th June 2007

Adrenalin rush!
Wow Gemma, what a thing to do. I take my hat off to you for your courage. I bet you felt fantastic after it was all over. We are really enjoying your photos. We were able to show the grandparents some of your blog at the weekend. They were amazed. We definately want to go to N Z now. luv A Marilyn
11th June 2007

Travelblog!!
Glad you are having a great time. Say 'hello' to Cairns for us: try the catamaran day trip to 'Michaelmas Cay' on the Barrier Reef and maybe take a run out to Trinity Beach where we stayed. Let us know when you intend going to Sydney.
15th June 2007

when i first saw the photos i said Woah! i couldn't believe you'd do something like that but you did! I'm so proud of you mate :) well done! you've definitely done something different. have loads of fun and take care... Maz x

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb