Week 2 - Part 2


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
February 24th 2007
Published: February 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The next day I woke up and could barely move. My neck down to my little toe was so sore from the previous two days activities that I had my first proper lie in of the trip to recoup. When I finally surfaced, we went into rotorua to look around the local market where we bought veggies, fish and green lipped muscles. Then we took Dave to play cricket as his team was in the finals and bless him he was so nervous.

Me and Peita then took 'Betty' Dave and Peita's rather clapped out car for a spin out to Okere falls and went for a lovely walk through the woods and watched some white water rafters. Then we went to Hamurama springs through a redwood forest which was beautiful. The river was so unbelievably clear, it looked good enough to drink!!! God Im so funny.
We then headed back to watch Dave play cricket. Unfortunately they didn't win, but it was a good way to while away the afternoon and drink lots of beer. I feel like I have stopped running at last.

The next day (sunday) I spent helping Dave in the garden. He has planted loads of veggies but there were a fair few weeds that needed pulling out. I really enjoyed it. Am definately going to have a veggie patch when I grow up.

On Monday, both Dave and Peita worked, so I spent the day mooching around Rotorua, which I have to say is a fairly souless place itself. It didn't help that the weather was rubbish. I met dave for lunch on the lake front (there are 16 lakes in the rotorua region) just as it stared to rain, so we sheltered under a bush while dave ate his sandwiches!! In the evening we took betty to the hot and cold pools which was fantastic. Basically, there are two streams, one hot, and the other cold. It was really weird sitting outside with about 5 other people in a hot river, drinking beer and slapping mud on each others faces. It was great. Skin felt so soft afterwards.

Played worms with Dave on his laptop which is an excellent game that I must try and get hold of. Basically you have four worms in your team which then have to try and kill the other worms using various means. Most amusing. I lost.

My last day in Rotorua I spent sunbathing and reading in the morning. I think I may be going slightly off white at last. In the afternoon, me and Peita went to the Buried village, which is a museum on the site of a village which got buried in 1886 when Mount Ngongotoma (really need to check my spellings- do not quote me on this) errupted. It was fairly good but a bit of a rip off.

After picking dave up from work we headed to the redwood forest for a walk, actually it was more like a run, me trying to keep up with dave and peita in my flip flops (the trendy ones) and huffing and puffing like anything.
Went out for a meal with some of their friends and drank lots of red wine. Lovely. Am really going to miss them when I go tomorrow.

Love the Foggmeister

ps, just thought I would share Dave's philosophy on life with you...

Try anything once, twice if you like it, more if you love it.
Live it, love it, be it, do it.

Sweet as, love and peace, Big Dave xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb