Running from the cold to the north


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
March 24th 2024
Published: April 15th 2024
Edit Blog Post

When I arrived in Dunedin around lunch time 4 weeks ago, I went to the hostel to drop of my bags and went out to discover the city. This let me to a streetart scavenger hunt which was very fun. Sadly one of the artworks I had been looking forward to the most had been over painted (there was a reference foto). The next day I went on a nature cruise to see the albatros and sea lions. We were very lucky as we saw three of the four sea lions that live in the harboor. My last day in Dunedin I visited the world steepest street and spent the afternoon at the beach. With 16°C water temperatur the ocean wasn't very warm, but warm enough to go swimming. Beaches really are my most favorite place to be.
I then made my way up to Christchurch, where all ten people that I shared the dorm room with throughout the week was german or swiss. That friday I took a daytrip to Akaroa to go swimming with dolphins like mom and dad did five years ago. Unfortunately the weather did not Play along and the tour had to be canceled. So I spent the day reading at the water until my bus headed back to Christchurch. To lesen my disapointment I wanted to use the money for the dolphin tour to take surflessons, but the next morning I accidently ripped my fingernail so sadly it was bleeding and I didn't want to spent four hours in water with that. Sunday nicht I toik tue last bus to the airport and spent the night there, since I didn't want to pay for a Taxi zu take me there at 4am for my flight up to Nelson. I once again stayed at Tasman Bay Backpackers, concluding my time on the south Island in the same place it begann almost six months prior. It's hard to wrap my head around the fact I habe now been in New Zealand for half a year.
From Nelson I made a daytrip to Golden Bay, driving 3 hours each way in a rented car on streets that remind me of the alps with their narrow corners and steepness. Luckily the streets were fairly empty. I got used to being on the lefthand side every quickly, but kept cleaning my front window instead of turning on my blinker. The drive was well worth it though. While the inside beach at farewell spit was rather underwelming after walking 20mins to the outside beach I was presented with one of the most breathtaking views of my life. Which filled me with immense gratitude and happiness.

Two days later I took a bus over to Picton from where I took the ferry over to Wellington, leaving the south island behind. My plans too discover Wellington in the evening were prohibited by the bad weather starting as soon as I arrived at my hostel. Since I had to leave for Rotorua early in the next morning the train station is all I have seen of Wellington. The past week I've been adjusting to all the things that are done differently at this haka house. My colleauges are super nice and we do some activities after work together, but my new manager is driving me a bit crazy. He was not properly trainer and is unaware of some things that I was taught as complay policy in queenstown. I also habe almost no reception hours which is very disappointing. This new location also comes with some advantages. Some activities in Rotorua offer famil dates for us, to try the activities we sell. So today I got to go ziplining for free. There is nothing quite like going down a 400m zipline looking down on treetops. I was also able to feed a little bird from my hand.
I can't believe my time in New Zealand will be over in just under two months, luckily you can fit a lot of experienced into that amount of time. I'm curious to see what waits for me when I travel the northisland in may.
I'll get back to you then,
Giovanna

Edit: I thought I posted this three weeks ago but apperently I only hit save.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb