Kiwi Encounter


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
November 28th 2006
Published: November 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

Another blog for you....

Just thought I would do another one before I left here, because I am not sure I will get a chance to do another blog maybe for a week. Just because I will be moving from place to place quite quickly from now on.

Here is my NZ itinerary for the nest 2 weeks:

Wed 29/11 - Leave Rotorua.... Arrive in Wellington
Fri 1/12 - Leave Wellington... go across on the ferry (3hrs) to the South Island...and make my way to Kaikoura
Sun 3/12 - Leave Kaikoura and go to Christchurch
Tues 5/12 - Train from Christchurch to Greymouth via Arthurs Pass
Wed 6/12 - Greymouth to Fox Glacier and Franz Josef
Fri 8/12 - Fox Glacier to Queenstown
Mon 11/12 - Leave Queenstown... Maybe go to Milford Sound... or back to Christchurch.

I am then planning to leave NZ around the 13th December...

I was going to stay here for XMAS and New Year... but have decided to go to Aus for them because I will have friends there and have family also. And I think I have spent enough time to see everything worth seeing.

Well anyway... yesterday (Monday)...

I went to Rotorua Museum of Art and History. It was pretty cool. I am not someone who usually goes to museums... but I thought this one was good. It used to be the famous bath house which was built in 1908. Soldiers wounded in the war used to come here to be healed by the famous healing waters and 'electric baths'. I have included pics and stuff.
There was also alot more info on the eruption of Mt Tarawera in 1886. Then I also visited the old famous blue baths.

Today (Tuesday) I went to Rainbow Springs Nature Park and Kiwi Encounter.

Rainbow Springs was cool... saw lots of different birds and reptiles. One reptile. the 'Tuatara', has existed on earth for more than 225 MILLION YEARS! And to think... that humas have lived for only 3 million years. So it is a true dinosaur!

Then I visited Kiwi Encounter. As the Kiwi is endangered, it is vital that they are helped to survive. The problem is, that they used to be fine living in NZ (the only country they're found in) but when humans (mainly European) bought predators such as Dogs, possums and cats, it meant that the Kiwi's couldn't protect themselves and began to be killed. There are only about 65,000 Kiwi's left in NZ and about 6 million Possums alone live in NZ. So it doesn't sound too good for the Kiwi. But they have set up this programme...which opened in 2004, which basically sees eggs that are found in the wild taken here. Once here, they naturally hatch, are given the food they need and are protected for the first year of their lives. Then released back into the wild. In the wild (if left by humans) there is only a 5% survival rate. But once they have been looked after by humans and protected then released... there is a 65% survival rate. So well worth it.
I got to see some Kiwi's as well (without any glass or wire between me and the kiwi)... despite them being Nocturnal creatures. It was a truly great experience. But unfortunately we weren't allowed to take any pictures.

So I am off to Wellington tomorrow (Wednesday).

Take care.

xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Rotorua Museum (The Old Bath House)Rotorua Museum (The Old Bath House)
Rotorua Museum (The Old Bath House)

Apparently the most photographed building in NZ.
Rotorua Museum (The Old Bath House)Rotorua Museum (The Old Bath House)
Rotorua Museum (The Old Bath House)

Apparently the most photographed building in NZ.
One of the old bathsOne of the old baths
One of the old baths

Many treatments were offered to heal wounds.
The Blue BathsThe Blue Baths
The Blue Baths

An old sign
The Blue BathsThe Blue Baths
The Blue Baths

An old sign
The Blue BathsThe Blue Baths
The Blue Baths

An old sign
The Blue BathsThe Blue Baths
The Blue Baths

The old changing rooms
Rainbow SpringsRainbow Springs
Rainbow Springs

Trout swimming in the waters


28th November 2006

Queensland
When you go to Queensland you must go white water rafting - it is a blast and very wet! A more expensive trip is going down the river in a jet boat. Both lots of fun. I hope you can swim!
3rd December 2006

I'm glad you are having a better time now and decided to stay.. yes i am reading your blog and sounds like you are having fun! x

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb