Raglan


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
February 29th 2016
Published: February 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

http://www.raglan.net.nz/





If I could live anywhere in the world, I would choose Raglan. It is a small settlement, tucked away on the west coast of the North Island, and is the most beautiful place I know.



Raglan is easy to get to, by car or bus. Hitch-hiking is also popular but not something I would recommend.



Raglan is only 40 minutes from Hamilton and is extremely popular with (often younger) overseas visitors, especially those who love to surf. But it offers a HUGE range of activities - there is something for everyone.



The link I have added will provide you with all the basic information you need about this fantastic spot. I will leave it to my photos to show you what Raglan is like at different times of the year - on clear days and on overcast days.



I never care what the weather is like. To me, Raglan is perfect every day.



Tips - the sand is black iron sand so remember to bring your jandals as the sand will be very hot in summer.

- there are different beaches and bays you can visit. If you are staying in Raglan, check if your accommodation provides bikes you can borrow.

- mid-summer/summer holidays is not my favourite time to visit Raglan. All the accommodation is full, tents appear everywhere and it is crazy. I recommend you try to avoid December/January as it is our school holidays and it can be very hot. Once the kids go back to school, things settle down and you will be able to enjoy the lifestyle and activities much more.



Older people - I hate to use the word 'older' and then realise that, at 52, it applies to me. I am not a young surfer. I can't walk down the hill to the main surfing beach (and forget trying to get back up it!!!). I have no intention of doing any strenuous activities and my elderly mother couldn't do any of the above. But she loved visiing Raglan. So, if you are 'older' or elderly, or not as fit as you used to be several decades ago, what can you do in Raglan? Anything you like! Wander through the town and check out the shops and cafes/restaurants. Grab a snack at the bakery, stroll down to the water and relax while you eat. Drive to beaches where you can sit and watch the more adventurous people. Take photos. Chat to the locals. Visit the information centre. You can simply take it easy. There is no reason to rush or hurry. There really is something for everyone here. Check out website above and see what appeals. And although this isn't something I usually add to my blogs, there are toilets in all the right places. Between having an elderly mother and small grandchildren, I know where they all are and there are plenty of them!



Dogs - there is a fully-fenced dog park in Raglan for our Kiwi Travellers who have their 4-legged companions with them. I like to let my miniature schnauzer run round the airstrip, or on the beach, early in the morning when there are few people (and their dogs) about. Plus the sand isn't too hot for their paws then.



Geocaches - there are a few in and around Raglan. My favourites are the one near the statues and the one not far away from there, near the toilet that may be a surprise to our overseas visitors who have never seen a long-drop before.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

ReflectionsReflections
Reflections

Right beside the township, taken early in the morning.
Raglan Raglan
Raglan

Beautiful, even on a misty morning.
Raglan Raglan
Raglan

An overcast day.
StatueStatue
Statue

Near the 4 statues is an easy-to-find geocache, but watch out for the nettles.
An overcast dayAn overcast day
An overcast day

Even on a 'bad' day, there will be people surfing or swimming or just enjoying a walk along the beach.
My assistantMy assistant
My assistant

My miniature schnauzer is always very keen to get out and take photos. He was born at Raglan and loves going back for a visit.


Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb