Raglan - first surfing lesson


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
April 21st 2007
Published: April 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Whilst Jen had a massage I was picked up in a minibus and travelled a few miles north for my first surfing lesson. The first part was in a barn on dry land we learnt how to lie on the board and then get up to stand. Then it was off to the beach for the practical. The surf was of moderate height (just right for beginners). The application of the lessons was of course far harder in reality but after a surprisingly short time I managed to stand up - albeit fleetingly. Nine times out of ten I fell off almost immediately or failed to 'get' the wave. However when I did catch one and managed to stand up it was thrilling. I think my max was 10 - 15 seconds. It was exhilerating. Unfortunately it wasn't practical to take a camera so no evidence exists of this wonderful experience. I returned to a very relaxed Jen following her massage. We had a very relaxing evening slobbed on the comfy couches in the hostel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb