First Impressions


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Palmerston North
December 12th 2014
Published: December 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

IMG_2640IMG_2640IMG_2640

The most Kiwi meal I could find when I first got to New Zealand
So I left London 2 weeks and 5 days ago to embark on what is supposed to be my big adventure on the other side of the world.

If you had asked me a year ago what my plans for December 2014 were going to be I would have told you I'd be working as service provision in a hospital in London that didn't give a shit about me, my training, or the European Working Time Directive. I probably would have complained about the cold weather, having to do more (expensive) post-grad exams, and waving goodbye to half my monthly paycheque to live in a semi-decent flat a 45 to 60 minute commute from work. I would have told you that that's what I wanted and it was something I had to do for my career. I would have told you that that's life.

I didn't get a job in a hospital in London that doesn't give a shit about me, my training, or the European Working Time Directive. I'm not complaining about the cold or spending half my paycheque in a semi-decent flat that requires a 45-60 minuted commute to work. Fine, I did do more (expensive) post-grad
IMG_2648IMG_2648IMG_2648

It's "Winter" and I'm on the beach
exams (secondary to peer pressure). I'm not telling anyone that that's what I wanted and that it was something I had to do for my career. I'm not telling you that that's life. Past-Chris can suck it.

What I did do was apply for every available job in New Zealand, wade through 7 months of rejection emails, finally get a decent job offer, and then spend the day before the Northern Hemisphere officially entered winter on a beach getting my fucking tan on.

I'm living in a house (not a flat, a proper house) in a bedroom big enough to fit a couch in it and I'm paying a fraction of the London rate. I can literally get to work in 3 minutes. I leave work at 4pm not only because I can, but also because I'm asked to (even the nurses tell me to go). I get told that everything I do or think is "Sweet as, bro". I get to tell someone over the phone I'm the Renal Reg and they believe what I say and then do it. I get to walk into a hospital cafe, load a tray with whatever the fuck I want,
IMG_2668IMG_2668IMG_2668

Priorities straight, first purchase in NZ
swipe my ID badge and walk off with all that food for free. There's a PS3, DVD's and board games in the doctors mess! I'm just waiting for it to get a little warmer (although 18-20°C is by no means cold), settle in a bit more, get a few more dollars and then I can start using all that extra time I'm not spending in work to surf, ski and sunbathe.

Relaxed working environment, perks at work, having more time and money to enjoy life. Now that's "Sweet as, bro".


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

IMG_2670IMG_2670
IMG_2670

Centre of Palmerston North town centre
IMG_2682IMG_2682
IMG_2682

Fire in the hills of Taranaki
IMG_2689IMG_2689
IMG_2689

On top of the world in Nukuhau with view of Mount Taranaki behind us
IMG_2693IMG_2693
IMG_2693

Tramping
IMG_2696IMG_2696
IMG_2696

Dawson Falls
IMG_2703IMG_2703
IMG_2703

Me and Dawson Falls
IMG_2707IMG_2707
IMG_2707

This idiot is now the Med Reg
IMG_2708IMG_2708
IMG_2708

My house
1765764517657645
17657645

The Hospital


12th December 2014

Welcome to Travelblog
I'm glad that everything is working out for you! We enjoyed New Zealand and you will too. We look forward to reading about your vacations.
13th December 2014

The push I needed
I'm well jel. You're having a great time and rubbing it in everyone's faces. Dickhead. :P I'm gap yaaring too and have just got to Pakistan (reenam and sana are getting married (not to each other)). I was in Malaysia before that. But afterwards I'm going back home to locum cos I need monies. I was contemplating a second gap year - maybe go south Africa for a year - and reading your post has been quite... inspirational! Have a great time and keep posts coming xx
19th December 2014

Live your dream!
Hi Christopher, You sound contented and happy. I'll be following your blog with interest, have a great Christmas! Love From Aintree, Liverpool :)

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb