Orewa


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Orewa
December 8th 2007
Published: December 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello hello. Just to clarify, the animals in the bird sanctuary where all found injured and sick, so they would not be alive right now if not for people who care for them. Oh yeah and I completely forgot to thank Carol and Steve in my last blog for my Christmas present, the Hobbiton tour. Thank you 😊
Alright so today we did some hiking in the area just north or Orewa, which is about 60 km north of Auckland. The weather has been rainy and overcast the last few days, but very humid. The humid part is good because in a couple days we are going to be swimming with dolphins hopefully, and the warmer the better for me because I lack much in the way of body fat.
We hiked through some dense forest to a small kaori grove, which are enormous and incredibly old trees. You can see a picture of one that Paul knocked down to give himself a place to sit. He is so destructive to nature.
After that we titilated our taste buds with some delicious honey tasting! I didn't even know tasting different types of honey existed, but I support it 😊 I think I tasted probably 20 different types of honey, ranging from strawberry to butterscotch to kiwi fruit and even to adult only alcoholic honey. I was in heaven. Plus we got honey ice cream that was incredible. It was almost as good as the wine tasting.
We met a couple girls from Vermont in our hostel who travelled with us around the area today. It was nice getting to know them a little better than we would have had we just conversed for a short period of time in our hostel. Plus they could completely relate to the small town environment that we grew up, in which was fun.
Alright that is it for today. I posted some pics from Hobbiton that I forgot to for the last blog. And some of you may not have noticed, but I unposted and then reposted the last blog with info on Hobbiton at the end of it.

Daniel


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb