Adventures in the Far North


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland
March 24th 2012
Published: March 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

It has been quite some time since my last entry. My Dad and I have been staying with some friends of ours on their farm in the tiny town of Kaingaroa, about 15 minutes south of Kaitia. Upon our arrival we were taken in like family. Mac and Maureen are potters and old friends of ours who we stayed with on our last visit to New Zealand. They have a beautiful farm and I have spent much of my time in the kitchen with Maureen, learning her ways. We have picked fresh grapes and made grape juice, and by putting it directly in the freezer avoided adding any sugar. I made my very first fresh fig tart, all on my own, and it was delicious! At every meal we grab fresh fruits and vegetable from the garden and eggs from the chickens.

There is never any lack of things to do on the farm. My days usually consist of waking up around 7 to the sounds of the birds and crickets and cicadas chirping and then eating a delectable breakfast of fresh fruit and oatmeal. Or eggs and toast and some tea or coffee of course. I have never eaten so well in my whole life as I have been here. Maureen is a genius in the kitchen. Since I myself am not the most advanced cook, mostly due to my lack of experience, I have asked her to teach me her ways. It is as if she is doing a perfectly choreographed dance in the kitchen, she zigs and zags adding spices and oil, fresh vegetables and fish, breadcrumbs and milk. Always the perfect amount to make the most savory dish with each dish finishing at the exact same time with the plates heated and voila...dinner is served. I simply cannot learn enough from her and relish in all the knowledge she bestows on me.

My daily adventure running through the hills is indescribable. The lush green rolling hills lay out before me as if teasing me, urging me to conquer them. Cows line the roads for the beginning of them until the pavement ends and I find myself on the unsealed part of my journey. I go up hill and down hill, over creeks and past little country homes. Because there are no predators in New Zealand I don't even worry about being alone in the middle of nowhere.

This place is a paradise all of it's own. We head to beaches as often as the weather allows. Ask any Kiwi (what New Zealanders are called) and they will tell you that they have had a crap summer. It has been wetter than usual but the hills are green and I don't think it's been as bad as they say. I know that a lot of the farmers have enjoyed it because it has kept their crops green.

We have spent two night at Northwind Lodge and are now heading back to Kaingaroa and the land of dial-up internet so it will probably be another week until my next blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb