Kauri Forest


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland
February 5th 2006
Published: February 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We went to an amazing NZ phenomenon: a forest of trees so large it boggles the imagination. While we haven't gone through the huge redwood tree in California that you can drive through, this was amazing.

Feb 14 note: I am going to publish this unfinished as it has been sitting waiting for my details but I can't add them as I don't have my notes/diary with me. Will edit later when I have easier access to computer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Our first glimpseOur first glimpse
Our first glimpse

On the way in to the Kauri museum, this was on the front porch.
The Four SistersThe Four Sisters
The Four Sisters

I am in the background of this grouping. The size of these mammoth trees strikes the viewer with awe.
Just a babyJust a baby
Just a baby

In the Kauri Museum, before we saw any real live trees.
St. AndrewSt. Andrew
St. Andrew

The interior of this church in Cambridge,near Hamilton, was made entirely of kauri wood. We visited it with Natasha, my first cousin once-removed, enroute to the Botanical Gardens. There was a huge farmer's market outside, a fundraiser for the church, with lots of fresh produce and interesting materials.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb