Kiwi talk


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » New Plymouth
January 5th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi!!! Just sitting at home watching a movie - ladder 49 (sad one!) while Mark is at work. Thought I would write down some things that I have learnt about NZ - mostly a lot of slang and how to talk the kiwi talk. lol.
First, Kia Ora is a Maori greeting. The actual meaning is be well/healthy but ppl here say it as a "hey hows it going" kind of greeting sometimes. Often it's "Kia Ora Bro" lol "bro" is commonly used by the guys around here. Also, the way they say it is more like Kiora (Kee-or-a). I find that ppl here pronounce things much differently than we would sound them out. Mark says it is a bit of a lazy language - I just find it kind of speedy with the way they pronounce, skipping letters or just merging the words together a bit. Anyway, heres a bit more:
- the kitchen counter is called the "bench".
- Dinner is called "tea" - this one took some getting used to!!!
- the light switches, you click them down to turn them on? Some have a little orange dot on the top, so when you flick it down you see the dot at the top to say that it is "on".
- They have these cross walks on busy intersections where, once the cars from both sides get the green, they both get a red light and the pedestrians get to walk - which means they can cross straight across, diagonally, however they like - kind of neat!!! sure beats having to cross one set of lights then another, just skip straight diagonally across the road!
- Haere Mai is the Maori word for welcome, or welcome to.
- "Choice" or "Choice Bro" is a common slang kind of like "cool"
- Gas stations are called a "Servo"
- L & P (Lemon and Paeroa) is a soft drink that is very popular here, kind of like coke but with a twist - they have coke here as well.
- There gingerale is called ginger beer and its a darker colour than ours back home - so Dad your Rye and Gingers will look a little different when you get here!
- They say "keen" a lot, if its something you'd like to do, or talking about someone or something you like etc.
- In New Plymouth they have this "wind wand" by the mall and it really is just a long pole with a big circle on the top and it bends the way of the wind. Mark said it cost like a million dollars lol seems to me like they could have done something better with a million bucks! It is also right by the ocean so I've only ever seen it bending away from the ocean as the breeze comes of it? I will take a picture of it soon!
- Seagulls are just as popular here as they are in Canada - ick!
- Mincemeat pies are really big over here! lol
- tv commercials are called adverts
- the trunk of your car is called "the boot"- I quite like that one!
- a pharmacy is called "the chemist"
- Like us Canadians, they say "eh" a lot except it is used a little differently. We use it at the end of a sentence when we want a confirmation sort of, like "Great movie eh?" where as they would say here "Ya eh, I liked that movie". They just sort of say it, toss it in as a confirmation of the statement.
- "heaps" is commonly used, meaning a lot. I miss you all HEAPS!!!!
- Flip flops or sandals are called jandals
- A hoodie or sweater is called a Jersey
- on the piss = drunk or getting drunk
- takin the piss = making a joke at someone's expense, taking the piss out of them etc.
- root = sex, ie. wanna root? (uh oh sorry Mel now you might not be able to post this one at the office!! lol)
- ew and they say the bad "C" word a lot, just so casually, I can't get used to it!!!!! The guys, the girls eeeek! And they all know the song about how you can't say "that" in Canada. HOpe you guys are with me on that one!?
- sun glasses are called sunnies
- Aotearoa = the Maori word for New Zealand meaning "the land of the long white cloud"
- A funny thing to end my list, I can't seem to stop unlocking the left hand door on my car to get in and drive but of course that is NOT the drivers seat so I usually just toss my purse in and walk around to the other side, very casually of course but totally blushing cause I feel so silly! lol!
I think thats all I can think of for now!!! These are just all minor differences though. Overall they have most of everything we have back home, just different name brands etc. Oh and when we were at that 21st birthday party on the weekend we played "thumb master" a drinking game back home too but this one had much cooler rules! I will try and google them, some were the same but they had some great additions! So I'm still getting used to some things, but am feeling pretty comfortable and at home!
OH and I am going to meet with a woman named Carly about a part time waitressing job in Oakura (about 30 minutes from New Plymouth and also where we went to for New Years). Another example of their pronunciation cause they pronounce it O-akra, but say it like that very quickly lol. And some of the names of places around here are very very different so that is one thing I am having to adjust to, I can't seem to remember certain places cause the names just won't stick in my head! haha
Anyway, I am hoping to get this job while I continue to search for another full time admin position! I will keep you posted! Oh and I don't want a serving job cause they don't tip over here!!!! They get paid between $12 and $15 per hour but still I would rather find something that pays a little better. But for now it will do! Wish me luck! and talk again soon! Oh and yes Krith I get all of your messages on here! Thanks!
xoxo Andrea

Advertisement



6th January 2009

loved it!
Hey An, I really enjoyed hearing about New Zealand. It's fun to learn the little things that no one thinks about. I was laughing about you going to the wrong side of the car, haha it would take some getting used to. Good luck on the job! xo
9th January 2009

werid
Those sayings are funny! i was reading them to morgan as we was cooking us "tea". lol Didi i do that right??? Saw the pics of the puppies today!!! SOOOOOO CUTE! Also - we miss you.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb