Feilding: Coach House Museum


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Manawatu
July 14th 2019
Published: July 14th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Coach House MuseumCoach House MuseumCoach House Museum

The entrance.
How did I not know this amazing museum existed? I accidentally came across it while passing through Feilding and decided I needed to check it out. It is huge. HUGE. It is set up to show what early rural life was like in NZ and the vehicles and machinery that helped make NZ what it is today. I never knew there were so many types of horse-drawn carriages. And don't start me on how many John Deere tractors they have there!

I was really impressed by how friendly, helpful and informative the volunteers were and how clean everything was. The way there were seats near some of the displays also impressed me as anyone elderly or unwell would be very glad to be able to make use of them. Yes, the building is that big!

My favourite display was the carriage I could sit in which had a tv screen in front of it. With just a quick push of a button we were 'off'. The screen showed my horse taking us on a tour of Feilding and the carriage was gently bumping which made it feel very real. Kids would love it.

Is this a museum I would go back to? Possibly, to show the grandkids one day. It isn't one I would keep going back to with them the way we do with the Whanganui Museum, partly because the Whanganui Museum is free and the Coach House costs $12 for an adult and $6 for a child. But if you have an interest in early rural NZ and specifically the Feilding area then it is definitely worth the cost.

Check out the gift shop. It has really neat souvenirs that I haven't seen anywhere else. I will pop in just to buy gifts for overseas friends. There is also a great collection of books about the district, all available for purchase.

http://www.coachhousemuseum.org/


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb