New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hawkes Bay » Napier
February 9th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Auckland 012Auckland 012Auckland 012

Time fo a new car?
Auckland!

Well I am starting this in Auckland, but as we have a long way to go in New Zealand, I am not sure when it will end, and you will all catch up!!

I had forgotten how much I loved this place until we arrived again today! I feel so old, it is definitely for young people, busy, vibrant and exciting! If I were to jump ship, it would probably be here and now!

What a fantastic mix of Colonial, Imperial and Modern innovative exciting youngsters, even the Grandparents make me look old! The only trouble is that I would have to learn to sail, it is for the sure the best pastime here!
Well we have spent the day sightseeing, and walking around this lovely city, after such a long spell at sea, it has been really good to properly stretch the legs, although with all the hills here, I shall ache tomorrow! The weather is glorious, blue skies, sunshine and temperatures of about 25 degrees!!

Monday, today we set the alarm!!!!! (well I made a hash of setting the alarm on my phone which is still on Spanish time, so it went off in the middle of the night! I was popular!!) Anyway, up and out early to catch the ferry to Waiheke Island. When we arrived, we rented a “Rent a Dent” banger, and set off to discover this beautiful island. Nothing much here except sheep, vineyards and beautiful coves and beaches! What a lovely day out. Free wine tasting by a beautiful beach suited me nicely, although wasn't so keen on the wine, and it is very expensive here.

Tuesday, today we have arrived in Tauranga and are berthed next to a sister ship, the Vollendam at the foot of Mount Maunganui. This is now kiwi fruit country, and all the scenery is so pretty and rural. Maunganui itself is a sleepy little place, so having been to the post office and wandered around here, I took the bus to Tauranga which is not a lot bigger, but built around a very pretty coastal inlet. Again, the weather is wonderful, and we are certainly seeing New Zealand at its' best, I am not sure it would be so good in the bad weather!! With that, we are now heading for Napier in Hawkes Bay, and the Captain has told us that there is a storm at sea, and we need to “batton down the hatches” tonight, so as we head steadily south, who knows what is in store?

By the way, on the subject of sheep, did you know that New Zealand has a population of 4.3 million people, and a sheep population of 60 million!!!! Amazing, the gems of information one learns on a World Cruise!



Additional photos below
Photos: 161, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb