Same old stuff


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hawkes Bay » Hastings
March 26th 2008
Published: March 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The date is Wednesday, March 26th, and I am continuing my theme of writing on Wednesdays. I would first like to wish happy birthday to both my parents, this is that special day of the year when my dad is 2 years older than my mom. I'm writing this from the living room/kitchen/bedroom of my flat, as we talked our kiwi neighbors into letting us scype their internet service for two weeks for $15. Its pretty convenient to say the least. Unfortunately, only hours after my Congolese roommate and I made that deal, our contractor called and said that we were getting kicked out of here on friday night. Just like that girl, the Aladdin motel has drawn me back in and let me get comfortable only to throw me out onto the street in the end. Sounds like a girl I once knew. Anyways, this left me scrambling to find a place, and luckily I already have. On friday, I move in with two Czechs who live in a house with a couple other guys on the other side of Hastings. I know the guys from work, they're pretty cool, and I even went to an amazing beach with them on good friday. The rent will even be $70 a week. Oh, and I pushed my bus ticket back to sunday the 6th so that I can earn a couple hundred more dollars, because next week is the best season for apple picking.

Regarding apple picking, I've gotten to doing 4 or 5 bins a day. This week, I've only done 3.5 yesterday and 4 today, but the picking was pretty sparse and they were paying $35 a bin, so it worked out. When I came to New Zealand, I had only heard of three apples: Red Delicious, Macintosh, and Granny Smith. Here, I have already picked like 7 different apples: Royal Gala, Galaxy, Jazz, Fuji, Pacific Queen, Pacific Rose, and Baerburn. None of these come to America though. We get all of our apples from Washington, or nearly all of them. These go to mostly Europe and Taiwan.

I'll run down what I've been up to for the last week, which isn't really that much. I worked a half day on thursday, then met up with a couple local kids I've met and we went to town called Havelock North which is famous for the area for its nightlife. It was a great time, and I hung out with a couple Australians from Perth. They made fun of me for being American (which happens everywhere- you aren't necessarily made fun of or loved, but you are definitely given extra attention), and we hung out for a while. We toasted, and one of them explained to me the history of the tradition of toasting. He said it goes back to medieval knights sitting down to dinner. When they did, to ensure that each other's drinks weren't poisoned, they would tip a bit of their drinks into everyone else's. You learn something new every day. After a while at that pub, we went into Napier to a club, and I ended up having a great time. As I said, everybody wants to talk to an American.

I have a couple thoughts on being an American in a foreign country. I think New Zealand may be a little different than other countries because they are SO laid back. If I was in France, for instance, I'm sure the reaction would be much much different. Most people here are so curious about what its like in America, and they ask a pretty standard set of questions that leads to a pretty typical pattern of discussion. The first question is: Who is going to win, Obama of Hillary? with the follow up asking if Americans can vote a black man into office. I usually have to explain that McCain is also still in the election, and they usually get confused because I don't truly understand how the primary system works though. I do tell them the next big vote is my home state, Pennsylvania. When they hear that I'm from PA, they usually ask where that is, mention that isn't that where Dracula is from, and every once in a while they ask about the Amish. After that subject is covered, the next topic is usually religion. They ask a million questions about what religion is like in the United States, and it is much different than New Zealand. No one, and I mean no one, I have met goes to church or gives one thought about it. I wouldn't say they are atheists either, they just haven't really thought about it and don't care to. With my spiritual outlook, it is pretty refreshing to be on the same level and in the majority for once. They think Americans are crazy about religion, (which from their viewpoint, we are) and usually ask me to explain what the deal is with televangelists. After those two topics are covered, the next one is usually guns. Most Kiwis, and anyone in the world for that matter, think that Americans walk around the streets carrying guns, Black panthers style, and that we shoot each other on a daily basis. I was drunk once and told a couple kiwis that there were drive by shootings in my hardcore hometown nearly everyday. The guns topic usually rolls into two more conversations: American Gangs and the multiple high school shootings that we have. I tell them that, besides probably 100 neighborhoods in the whole country, anyone can walk down any street and be perfectly safe without worrying about any danger. Some people actually don't believe me! They think I am lying and that the gun situation is completely out of hand. I tell them I have never dealt with a gang, although I once played in an underground poker game that was probably run by the mob in Erie. They think I'm some badass because of that.

After these topics are covered, the conversation usually rotates back to politics and Iraq. It is amazing how much mroe aware of the world around them these people are than Americans. I swear, Kiwis know more about American politics than Americans do, and that is pretty depressing. Also, if you think Bush is unpopular in America, it isn't even close to over here. NOT EVEN CLOSE. Every person I have met, from every country in the world, hates him. They yell at me about how stupid he is, and I say "hey, preaching to the choir here", which is a religious reference they don't usually get. It is literally unbelievable how much they despise him. And the ones that understand also hate McCain. It is refreshing, however, to realize that these people don't judge you just because you are an American. They understand, I think, that Americans aren't their government, and I will respect the entire country of New Zealand for that. Also, as an American, because of the scrutiny our government is so severe, you feel a certain pressure to represent the US well. I am usually overly nice to everyone and always polite to show how nice of people Americans are. It's weird, and I don't know if I explained it well.

On a side note, being an American here does bring one untouchable perk. Have you ever gone out when you were single, and there was that guy from Australia/England who had the nifty accent that all the girls thought was so amazing and all wanted to talk to? Well, here, I am that guy. Girls love the accent, as well as guys. Although they, for the most part, hate our government, they have some infatuation with our culture. I think its the power of our country, as in, this guy is from a country that could destroy the whole world and has an outside shot of doing it. I have been offered maybe 5 jobs at pubs to be bartenders because girls love talking to American (and canadian) guys. Its so wierd, but awesome none the less. You should young kids look at me when I talk to people in a store. They seriously look at me with a wide eyed expression.

Back to the chronology.. On friday, I went to a beautiful beach called Waimarama or something, and went to the highest peak in the area, Te Mata, with the two Czechs. It was amazing to be in the water and realize I was swimming in the south pacific ocean. Unfortunately, I forgot my camera, but I think I'm going to go back this weekend and take pictures. The drive there is picturesque enough to make the repeat trip worth it. Friday night to Monday, I did absoutely nothing except eat, read, write, and watch tv. Oh, and I gambled on rugby. I was pretty bored on saturday, and to gamble here you literally only have to go into any pub, put your money into what is called a TAB system, and say what you want to bet on. I won $12 dollars, but it wasn't as entertaining as I thought it would be. When you are poor, as I am, gambling isn't about the possibilities of winning, but solely worrying about the loss of money you could lose. But I won nonetheless.

Thats about it for now, I don't know when I'll write again. Maybe in Taupo? We'll see. Hope all is well in the US.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb