Like a pig in clover..


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Egmont National Park
February 14th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Those of you who know me and my garden have seen my compost heaps and indeed have saved veg waste for me, well I am staying at a place that goes in for this in a big way. It is really interesting and I am learning a lot!
I found the eco inn advertised in the Lonely Planet which has baches (or chalets) and camping sites. The forecast is not too good at the moment, so I booked into a bach for three nights. It is quite an interesting place - right along a road in the middle of nowhere, with no power from the national grid. The whole set up is based upon making their own power and using as little as possible of unneccessary things - like public drainage systems etc.

The power is provided by a series of five windmills, all with different driving ratios which the owner is checking out at the moment, the water is collected from rainfall and the drainage is cleaned through a system of reeds - I think!! And there is no sense of lack of anything - it all seems quite easy. Their veg are grown in large poly tunnels and visitors are able to help themselves! The tomatoes are just ripening, the courgettes and peppers are ready now... It is bliss!! I haven't found any pigs yet, but the chickens are free range and eat all the waste from the cabins. They also sort out the compost heaps - sadly I am not allowed them at home!!

I sorted out the camera situation yesterday - bought another as my old one has a broken sensor that lets in the light. That explains why it took phots in the deep shade of the kiwi house and also inside my tent, but nothing with sunshine. Will play around and see how I go with the new machine.

Terry you would love it out here - the number of classic cars being driven is incredible - mostly English but there are also some from the USa with those incredible fins at the back. Lots of Morris Minors...!!!

Advertisement



14th February 2008

What happened?
To your last entry? Glad you got the camera thing dealt with, know the feeling well! Terry grinned when I read him your comment - mind you it's also a really good place for Maclaren traction engines too - watch out, you might get a chance to steer one if you're lucky. I can recommend it if you get the chance.
14th February 2008

Quick!!
You must be online now - same time as me - that seems spooky, but should be absolutely normal in this day and age!! LOL
15th February 2008

Sooooo jealous
Just read this after doin my own bit of eco composting! Wonder if they have any ford dexta tractors out there? Alf thinks every body wants one.
18th February 2008

tractors
Tell Alf it is old tractor heaven out here, in fact old anything heaven!! Met a group of Ford Anglia drivers yesterday and had a good evening's drinking with them - very friendly lot. One of them had seen a garage full of old bikes and vehicles - practically had to tie him down so he couldn't drive off with spare parts!! Going for an old train ride tomorrow - LOL!!

Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb