Fush and chips in Whitianga


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Whitianga
March 6th 2006
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My first day on Kiwi Experience, and boy what an experience! I am not the oldest person by any means (Richard Attenborough is in fact on board, well, someone who looks very like him) and I have met loads of non-18 year olds, which is nice. It's always a bit awkward at first chatting inanely to total strangers, but talking out of my bottom has always been a forte of mine. I have met one girl, Dina, who went to Cardiff at the same time as me and did Pharmacy - small world, eh?
We travelled from Auckland to the Coromandel Peninsula, East of Auckland and stopped off at the very beautiful Cathedral Cove. From there we journeyed to Whitianga for the night (home of the Mercury Bay Yacht Club, where the New Zealand challenge for the Americas Cup originated). I have found out that sailing appears to be only second to rugby in this nation's hearts (I suppose it is the only other thing Kiwis are good at ;-)
I have to tell you that I had the most amazing fish and chips here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb